America the Right Way-Staying Vigilant-23 months left March 12-13, 2011 Weekend Edition-Remember 9/11

Good morning!

The earthquake and tsunami which hit Japan yesterday will continue to dominate the news. The scenes are beyond horrific. Sometime near the end of the day, I heard in my head the breaking voice of the famous announcer from the ’30s crash of the Hindenberg in NJ: “Oh the humanity!”

Was that 0 presser a scheduled one yesterday? I’m thinking it was quickly planned for a Friday afternoon with the news focused elsewhere so he could dish out his usual combo of deceit and bullying…self-delusion and posturing.

Weekend Links

In Harry Reid’s World… Mark Steyn

It’s not just AQ NRO

Democrat Thuggery Am. spec.

0’s Great LEAHP Backward Am. Thinker

Goodbye Kyoto Fred Singer

Playing the Recall card NRO

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to America the Right Way-Staying Vigilant-23 months left March 12-13, 2011 Weekend Edition-Remember 9/11

  1. Molly Pitcher says:

    Evening, prairie, lysie, Jemian, till, ALL

    Yes, we’re indeed fortunate…no complaints here.

    lysie hope you and Greg are both better soon. My husband woke up ill yesterday and that changed our weekend plans….he seems to be better tonite. Luckily his appetite hasn’t suffered ;)…so despite the congestion and cough, he isn’t in a seriously weakened condition. HA!.

    • Jemian says:

      Good evening! Pray for my son, Josh. He thinks he may have malaria. Primarily pray that he will find some place to do the blood slide that won’t panic if he does have it. We have meds we can get to him, so that isn’t a problem. If he does have malaria, it is early in the cycle. Also it has been 3 years since he’s been in a malaria area.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Prayers for Josh. Try not to worry, Jemian….

  2. Prairie says:

    Oh how I dislike these time changes. It’s past 6 o’clock and I’m not even hungry. It’ll be time for bed and I won’t be sleepy. (/whining)

    Hope everybody here is OK. I guess we’re a heck of a lot better off than the Japanese.

    Lysie, hope you and Greg get to feeling better real soon.

  3. lysie says:

    I’ve been watching this mini series on gmc.

  4. tillacum says:

    Good Morning Everyone. It’s beautiful in central Texas this a.m., a bit windy, but nice.

    lysie, hope you’re feeling better.

    Looks like WI is still in the throes of m moore and his ilk. Saw jessie jacksuun made an appearance.

    • Jemian says:

      Good morning! The events of yesterday have made me unfit for church today. The time change takes some adjustment but what really threw me off the sked was the fact that the youngest left about 0100 for the airport. I had gone to bed at 1930 to try to prep for it but it wasn’t enough. The girls woke me up, they didn’t mean to, as they left. The oldest drove the youngest to airport. Then, I was awake for about two hours. The body just doesn’t adjust as it used to adjust. I got ready for church. But that wore me out so I decided to simply stay home.

    • lysie says:

      Good morning ladies.
      The nagging cough lingers on as I improve each day. Sadly, Greg caught the bug a few days ago. You know it’s bad when there was a band playing at the VFW 3 miles away last night and we didn’t go.

  5. Molly Pitcher says:

    ALL;prairie, Raven, lysie, queenie,Jemian, till, MozartLover, Nita, Bit, ED, MKH,Dolly, CONSERVE Good morning….

    I agree, prairie, there’s a lot I don’t know/ understand about the situation, and the media is in the same fix.

    Raven, you’ll get it sorted out!

    The river is slowly settling down, and the flood warning will expire later…I think that’s correct info…

  6. Prairie says:

    Goodness, it just can’t seem to get any better over at Japan’s nuclear reactor sites. It seems to me as more time goes by, the worse the situation probably is or will be….but what do I know about it?

    Good evening everybody, had a good party for Mr. Prairie’s birthday. Everybody seemed to have a good time.

  7. The Raven says:

    I was happily puttering along with itunes for years now with no problems. Then this morning I decided to move all the songs to a disc with more space.

    Everything is messed up now.

    Argh. I have duplicate files and missing tunes…..

  8. Prairie says:

    Japan earthquake factbox: Entire Japan coast shifted 2.4 metres, earth axis moves ten inches

    Other sources are saying the earth’s axis was moved 4 inches, so all appropriate disclaimers inserted.

    Good morning all, busy around here getting ready for Mr. Prairie’s party. A friend of mine is coming by in an hour to help, so I’m not totally bonkers this morning.

    iowa granny thanks for the response on the other thread. I think your meetings about restrictive regulations is a good idea. Republicans need to start taking lessons on organization from the left. As for the thugs, take care and keep hitting that delete key.

  9. Jemian says:

    FYI, four Auburn football players have been arrested and charged with armed robbery. It seems that one would drive the get-away car while three others would force their way into student apartments and with a gun hold the residents at bay and make off with laptops and other personal property. Coach Chizik immediately permanently kicked them off the team. It makes no sense to me. They have a good solid future, especially the senior, Mike McNeil, in the NFL. There doesn’t seem to be any reason for their crimes but because they could and they wanted money NOW.

    So sad. Thugs.

  10. Jemian says:

    Good morning! I am amazed, appalled, astounded by the effects of the earthquake and tsunami. Prayers for the people of Japan. I just heard on Fox (0628CST) that the radiation levels from the power plant are decreasing. Perhaps they have dodged a bullet there.

    It takes just an instant for disaster to occur but it will be years for recovery and rebuilding.

  11. Molly Pitcher says:

    All, prairie, lysie, Iowa, ED, Jemian, Bit, Raven, littlebears, till, snarlin,Nita, M Kehoe, MKH, 2/3rds, MozartLover, b4 Good morning…

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Going to be sharing a computer with my husband the next couple or so days….so online time may be limited…

      lysie hope you are making progress toward recovery!

      Just a few more days til Spring!

    • iowa45 says:

      Good Morning Everyone! I’m on the road all day today for 2 Public Hearings. These are different than the usual Townhall Meetings I do. Today we are asking Iowans to come forward and sight specific Rules and Regulations being enforced in Iowa that hinder growth and expansion of Business and Industry in Iowa.

      Union Thugs are still ranting and raving about the Collective Bargaining bill passed on Friday afternoon in the Iowa House of Representatives. I’ll give them this: They do a much better job of resisting legislation they consider unfriendly than Republicans do! I am getting pretty sick of the vile emails they are sending me.

    • edinva says:

      Good morning, Molly, ALL

      To answer your question about the presser, Molly, I heard that it had been scheduled before the Japanese earthquake. Also heard that the word “Wisconsin” never came up once. Not by O, not by the first reporter. I mute those pressers, so cannot confirm, just reporting what I heard on radio.

      Am so excited we’re finally at Daylight Savings Time. Artificial tho it may be, it’s a mental lift to have daylight till 7pm and later.

      Looking at the pictures and film out of Japan is physically turning my stomach. So much and so extensive is the damage. Now, it sounds as if everyone who possibly can is trying to get out of Tokyo for fear of the effects of the nuclear reactors meltdowns. Thankfully, Tokyo is not Port-au-Prince, and Japan not Haiti. They will recover and rebuild much more quickly than present estimates, unless the radiation does poison those northern prefectures So far as I’ve heard, the Chernobyl area hasn’t reopened after 25 years. But, again, Japan isn’t the former USSR, either. Their extreme work ethic will stand them in good stead in the coming months.

    • lysie says:

      Thanks for the start, Molly.

      Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      ED, thanks for the info about the p. conference…I’m too cynical, right?;^)

      And thanks for the time change reminder…

      Yes, got slightly ill yesterday myself with all the coverage…as bad as it is, tho, I’m thinking they are a resilient people, and will rebound. No replacing the horrible loss of life and dear ones , of course.

    • Jemian says:

      Molly, I agree with you about the resilience of the Japanese. But, oh my goodness, perhaps not many other people could get through it. There are water shortages now, food supplies are critical, the mind boggles at the enormity of the challenges. I think Rush said it best, when you look at the destruction that occurred, it demonstrates the smallness of mankind on the world. Man’s wonderful achievements, buildings, architecture, communication, transportation, etc. were wiped up in just two minutes. It is quite humbling.

Leave a Reply

