America the Right Way-Staying Vigilant-21 months left May 2-6, 2011 -Remember 9/11

Hello!

Pro-Qaddafi forces are attacking foreign embassies after a NATO missile supposedly killed one of Qaddafi’s sons.

Survival stores from last week are being told in AL and GA, including one of a young boy picked up by the tornado, carried 30 ft into the air and then deposited with only a few bruises and cuts.

Did anyone watch any of the WH Correspondent’s Dinner last night on C-SPAN? Naturally, I tuned in at just the WRONG moment: a shot of 0 on the dais just as a video tribute to his achievements was beginning to run. My hand could not quite find the remote fast enough!

Thursday’s Links

Canada’s Election shocker

Why 0’s bounce is so anemic post-OBL’s demise Am. Thinker

Dirty pics of OBL Am. spectator

0’s War on Oil Am. Spec.

A Timely national Day of Prayer NRO

This entry was posted in Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

158 Responses to America the Right Way-Staying Vigilant-21 months left May 2-6, 2011 -Remember 9/11

  1. lysie says:

    This weekend.

  2. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  3. The Raven says:

    School choice is gaining new momentum, and one of the biggest political breakthroughs came this week in Indiana. Governor Mitch Daniels signed legislation Thursday that includes far-reaching reforms in teacher assessment and tenure, as well the most ambitious voucher program in memory. – WSJ

    • lysie says:

      I’m not registered so I couldn’t read the whole article. What I did read I like. Especially, the public funded scholarships.

  4. The Raven says:

    Morning quote about the latest freedom removed:

    When the party failed to get the bill through even an overwhelmingly Democratic Senate, the White House stepped up. The draft order, which came out last month, would require federal bidders to supply a complete list of all political contributions made by the company, its political action committee, and its senior executives—going back two full years. More astounding, the order requires the list to include donations made to third-party political groups—disclosure that is not currently required by law, and that is, as a result, surely unconstitutional.

    -KIMBERLEY A. STRASSEL WSJ

    Gangster Politics in action from the pros

  5. Prairie says:

    I’m watching some of the republicans debate. Crowd is enthusiastic. Juan Williams wishes he didn’t have to be around all those republicans. LOL!

    • Prairie says:

      Good night everybody.

    • tillacum says:

      Roomey is watching the wannbees Republican president. As far as I have seen, all but McCain is a retread. Why do they think we want to see these used-elected pontificate? I’m going to do some reading. I just cannot watch them rehash the same old-same old, old answers. Not one has “served” their country,where they put their life on the line, for us, so to speak. They all went to law school or equivelent, to keep from having to serve in uniform. I wouldn’t trust one of them to protect my back in a time of trouble. We’re watching one who wouldn’t protect one of our backs, right now and he lives in OUR whitehouse.

    • lysie says:

      I’m watching, too. I must have been busy doing other things because I was not aware that the debate was tonight.

    • The Raven says:

      I couldn’t believe the question from Juan Williams to Pawlenty . It went something like “…despite over 10 years of tax cuts from George Bush….”

      Good Golly Miss Molly Pitcher, they are dodging their disaster by blaming it on Bush !!!

  6. Nita says:

    Bracing myself for the 5 O!! Clock news. Being in the NY Metropolitan area, you know it will be wall-to-wall O at the WTC today and what a hero he is.

  7. lysie says:

    Molly,

    Regarding your Dirty pics of OBL Am. spectator link.

    What do you think? After his presidency is over he and Michele will sell it on e-bay. 😉

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That’s good…along with her dresses, etc..

      Did you about Mike Malloy -lib talk show guy- who said that SEAL Team 6 should drop in on W.? He said this ON AIR!

      Debra Burlingame was invited to the event today and will attend, but she is seriously critical of 0.

    • lysie says:

      Yes. I read about Malloy’s hateful comments. Can you imagine the outrage if Rush, Levin or Beck said that?

      Headed outside to take advantage of the sunshine. Be back in a few hours.

    • lysie says:

      Arrogant, rude…help me here, folks. What other words describe him?
      Burlingame After Meeting With Obama: He Turned His Back On Me

      Burlingame describes the encounter with Obama: “As a former attorney I know you can’t tell the Attorney General what to do, he said, ‘No, I can’t.’ But I said ‘we — that shouldn’t stop you from giving your opinion. We wouldn’t be here today if they hadn’t done their jobs. Can’t you at least give them your opinion.’ And he said ‘no I won’t,’ and he turned around and walked away.”

    • mustknowhistory says:

      I saw that interview with Debra Burlingame this afternoon. David Beamer was also on that show. Here is a link to his remarks:

      http://baltimorejewishlife.com/news/news-detail.php?SECTION_ID=2&ARTICLE_ID=5932

      “Nothing Obama does now can ever wipe the slate clean of all the other anti-American, pro-Islamic policies he has put forth.”

    • lysie says:

      mkh, David Beamer is correct.

      In other words, once a cat urinates on a rug you will never get the stink out no matter how much you try. Eventually the rug needs to be thrown out and replaced by a new one.

  8. lysie says:

    Prairie, Iowa45

    It’s been a bad spring for farmers here, too. I have seen some fields plowed, but no plantings.

    I pray things improve for them.

  9. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • queenie says:

      Someone in the administration has figured out that when 0-man talks, his poll numbers go down.

      Good morning, ALL.

    • Nita says:

      Let him keep talking..I hope.

      I cringe when he does. I’d rather the snicker slickness of Clinton.

    • lysie says:

      I’d rather the snicker slickness of Clinton.
      Ewww! Now we know how you really feel about O when you’d rather hear slick.. Ha!

      Good morning quennie, Nita, Molly , Rav and all…again.

      The sun is shining. I better not blink.

    • Nita says:

      LOL Lysie

      Sighhhhhhhhh much work to be done. 100+ cadets to all parts of the world for the next few months. I might see daylight in 2 weeks 😉

    • Prairie says:

      Good morning everybody, I’m off for routine doctors apt and errands this morning, will try to get back later. Have a good day everyone.

    • Jemian says:

      Good morning!


      I would have posted this earlier but after taking some pain pills, I fell back asleep. FWIW, on Saturday I had a relapse w/my back but yesterday something popped. It happened in an instant while I was merely walking, carrying nothing.

      One more thing, we should immediately cut off diplomatic relations with Pakistan. It is unconscionable that they were double-dealing with us like they were.

    • lysie says:

      As the New Yorkers greet Obama today, I hope they remember these words spoken in August of last year.

      “As a citizen, and as president, I believe that Muslims have the same right to practice their religion as everyone else in this country. That includes the right to build a place of worship and a community center on private property in lower Manhattan, in accordance with local laws and ordinance. This is America, and our commitment to religious freedom must be unshakable.”

      He may fools some with this recent event, but he doesn’t fool me.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hope you’re not in too much pain Jemian

      lysie I took my cat to be boarded this a.m., and there was a poor cat there with her owner…the cat had been skunked. And they arrived at a very busy time, too, so they were not expected…an emergency…waiting patiently…felt so bad for them as the cat meowed pitifully too.

      Thanks for looking after things here….back in about12 days, but maybe I’ll be able to be online at some point….just can’t count on it.

      Take care!

  10. Nita says:

    Have to gear up I-tunes and some other form of entertainment for tonite. I do not want to hear about the gestures of good-will, adulation, blah blah for that guy that comes to visit the WTC today (oh, um yea, BTW 1st time since 2008?????hmmmm)

    Don’t tell me he isn’t in campaign mode or i’ll lose my $4.31 DD breakfast sammich.

    I feel like deja vu all over …

    On a different note tho. Remember when we killed two of Sadaam’s son’s??? Any one remember the liberal uproar over that???? I felt like I had a deja vu moment watching Andrea Mitchell last night.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Andrea Mitchell is another one past her “use by” date.

      Supposedly 0 will be making no comments at GZ, just laying a wreath.

  11. Prairie says:

    Unbelievable how the stories out of the Obama administration are so contradictory. Let us hope and pray for a better president in the White House.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      A guy called in to Levin’s show last night who said he was former SOPs, and he sure sounded like it: intelligent, coherent…he said it’s confusing because (supposition) when the SOPs got to the compound, they were confronted with the unexpected. But they acted accordingly and reported what had happened, but the administration started to convey something different, and the whole story went off track from there with multiple commentators, stories.

      The whole call was fascinating .

    • Nita says:

      I believe if Obama was not in such a rush to interrupt Donald Trump on “Celebrity Apprentice”, we would have initially recieved a story that was much closer to the truth.

      I find it amazing that after all this time the only one who could get him to release his Birth certifiace was The Donald.

      HAHA!!

  12. iowa45 says:

    Checking in.. I am at home,, until Monday, when I need to go back to work. There isn’t much work left to do, and what is left to be done must first be negotiated.

    So this afternoon, I negotiated with the watergrass that is growing up inside my Bearded Iris. My feet are COLD, and I was never warm enough today to take my hooded sweatshirt off.

    Going to clean up the kitchen now. I fed 4 farmers tonight,, they each had a smile on their face when I handed them their meals… I think they’re glad they don’t have to stop what they’re doing to fix their own sandwiches. They are planting like crazy here. It’s suppose to rain tomorrow, so that will slow them down a bit, but with the bigger planter, they are making fast work of it.

  13. Molly Pitcher says:

    Dang….I think deciding about the photograph took longer than the operation itself.

  14. lysie says:

    A little something for thought:

    A husband and wife were married for eight years before realizing the marriage could no longer exist. The husband thought it would be best to marry right away due to his 8 year old child.

    Previously the child’s grades were outstanding, but they declined due to stress in the family from the divorce of his parents.

    After two years, the child’s grades improved. The most recent report card had straight A’s on it. The step-mother immediately took credit for the improved grades; forgetting all the effort the child’s natural mother spent with her child.

    My question to all of you is: Who deserves the credit?
    Would it be the natural mother, the stepmother or the child?

  15. Molly Pitcher says:

    Good morning everyone. Wow the OBL death details are more and more contradictory.

    That MO levee is going to be broken again to relieve pressure down river, and

    TA DA…Dennis Kucinich, worried about R redistricting, may be moving to WA….he’s been out there raising money…rumors grow. LOOK out Washington STate!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      And another surprise: Mark Steyn writes at the Corner that he’s appearing tomorrow night at Oberlin! No doubt he was invited by some (tiny) conservative group there. Hope it goes well, with few interruptions, hecklers, etc…

    • lysie says:

      Molly and Nita, congratulations to Francisco Liriano of the Minnesota Twins for his no hitter.

      Liriano said, ”To be honest I was running out of gas. I just thank my teammates that they made some great plays behind me tonight.”

      He walked six and struck out two. I didn’t watch the game , but yes his teammates deserve a lot of credit or perhaps the White Sox hitters need a scolding.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      A no hitter! Good for him, and his team….they were VERY frustrated at a recent appearance in Cleveland ^;)

  16. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  17. mustknowhistory says:

    Iowahawk’s take on the new found American pride on the left:

    http://iowahawk.typepad.com/iowahawk/2011/05/american-pride-is-back.html

    Neither can we forget the watchdogs of America’s press, who have shown unprecedented ethical flexibility in shedding their long-held Gandhi moralism and embracing their inner Rambo.

    • The Raven says:

      Could the whole thing be political? Why not use a cruise missile? Because the political bump from a Seal team is higher and lasts longer than a bomb. Hiding the body in the sea is additional talking points to keep it alive.

    • Nita says:

      Add to that, he will be at GZ tomorrow for more ego stroking photo ops.

      Why did it have to be his administration in power at the time of this huge event.

      Makes me want to hurl

    • The Raven says:

      Neets

      I’m convinced the left simply attacks strong points of the opposition and they don’t really believe what they are doing. When Bush polling was up in the 80’s – they had to knock down his “war on terror” strenghts – accusing him of torturing the poor terrorists in Club Gitmo, and dragging on a stupid war in Iraq.

    • Nita says:

      Well I believe this will be in folks’ rear view mirror as the economy is not moving in any upward direction. Let’s see what happens to fuel in the next few months.

    • tillacum says:

      The author is correct. The military was professional carrying out their mission. The whitehouse has been an abissmal failure in their reporting of osama’s demise.

      Good Morning Everyone. Beautiful, here, in central Texas.

    • lysie says:

      Good morning, till.
      I see FEMA has denied Perry and your great state aid. FEMA is so caring for some yet, not, for others. *Read between those lines.*

  18. Prairie says:

    ‘Night all.

  19. Bitwhacker says:

    Check your FReepMail, I may have ranted a bit. Sorry if I overstepped, but I am attuned to the madness of crowds, and something is afoot that didn’t need to happen.

  20. Nita says:

    So sorry if I stepped on any one’s toes here.

    Cya.

  21. Molly Pitcher says:

    Did you see this,
    Bit
    ?…subject: movie remakes…Am. Spec.

    • Bitwhacker says:

      I saw it! I read a little of the article, I’ll let you know what I think when I finish it.

    • Nita says:

      I read it. I THOUGHT they’d be talking about the remake of Arthur, which is one of my most absolute favorite movies (The original that is). I am so glad I read that before getting the new one else I’d be terribly disappointed.

    • Bitwhacker says:

      I just finished the AmSpec article on remakes, and it seemed like he mailed the column in. He hated Fargo????

      I agree with him on True Grit (older was better), and the second Arthur was awful. The remake of Flight of the Phoenix also was bad (how can Dennis Quaid compare to Jimmy Stewart?). But he didn’t even mention a remake that was almost better than the original: Marky Mark’s Planet of the Apes, even with the different ending.

  22. Molly Pitcher says:

    Jemian…you’ll probably like this: Blake’s Jerusalem: forget it!

    I’ve always liked the music, not the goofy words…and I thought the name referred to the tune…will have to go find my old hymnal & check that out

    • Jemian says:

      I am not familiar with Jerusalem. If I interpreted the words literally, yes, they are goofy, but if taken as poetic imagery, it isn’t bad. For example:

      And did those [i.e. Christ’s] feet in ancient times
      Walk upon England’s mountains green
      And was the Holy Lamb of God
      In England’s pleasant pastures seen?

      Well, no, Christ didn’t walk in England, but since the people of God are His representatives here on earth, Christians in England could be considered “His Feet.” So, that would fit.

      The next stanza is:
      And did the countenance divine
      Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
      And was Jerusalem builded here.
      Among these dark Satanic Mills?

      Does Christ shine forth from His people? Are they building His church where they live? One could argue that the druids are a dark, satanic religion and they do, indeed, worship Satan although they don’t call him such. IMO, this verse fits, too.

      The author in that article has apparently forgotten or perhaps never known that the Word of God “is sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. ” In another place in Holy Writ it says, ” the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” It is not at all wrong to refer to the “sword never sleeping in my hand” as the hymn does. It means the singer should be well-versed in God’s Word and be prepared at all times to speak an apt word as it is needed.

      I need to listen to the song again. I didn’t recognize it during the service and it has been mentioned several times in discussions about the wedding.

    • mustknowhistory says:

      Yes. That’s the one. I have been humming it ever since Friday’s ceremony.

      It may also be a vague reference to a legend that the young Christ went to England with his uncle Joseph of Arimethea.

      The satanic mils I think are a reference to the early Industrial Age.

      Think this song also was used in the movie Chariots of Fire.

    • mustknowhistory says:

      On Friday, this was the last hymn of the service, just before the William Walton, Crown Imperial.

    • Jemian says:

      This is the song I think of when I hear that title. Actually, the name of this song is “The Holy City”. This version is sung by Mahalia Jackson.

    • Jemian says:

      Must know, Yes, about the legend. I think you’re right. That must be what the song is talking about. Thanks.

  23. Molly Pitcher says:

    Yesterday I heard a variety of responses to the news…a couple were sad, even disturbing.

    For instance, there was the man burned in the WTC that day who said it was “one more death..”….with due respect to this man and what he went thru that day, to equate OBL’s death to that of 9/11 innocent victims is really very poor moral reasoning.

    Another comment I heard was similar, but this person had lost a son in the war.

    • Bitwhacker says:

      I read a similar account where somebody getting out of a cab at Times Square was told by the driver, ‘Don’t they (people celebrating) know there are 1,000 bin Laden’s still out there?’

      On a side note: I hope the Seal Team slipped a BLT into bin Ventilated’s shirt pocket just before they sent him over the side… 😉

    • Nita says:

      I mean to put my comment here regarding my comments about “here”.

      I just do not get this “Stiffle the celebration” mentality. Joe Schmoe murderer kills your family member and at his sentencing they are always asking “How do you feel”. “Do you feel happy, vindicated, have closure”? etc…and that is all ok.

      This devil incarnate finally meets his virgin makers and we ought to mourn?, cry?, hurt?….not me.

  24. Prairie says:

    Good morning all. Still cool here this morning, I expect that will change in a day or so but it’s been a welcome respite.

    I expect Obama will milk OBL’s killing for all it’s worth, probably over-do it, knowing how liberals are.

  25. Nita says:

    I’m getting quite tired of the adulation being thrown towards Obama as if he personally boarded one of the helo’s that invaded the compount.

    • mustknowhistory says:

      It has become nauseating.

      Meanwhile, gas jumped up another 20 cents per gallon this morning.

      We went to dinner last Saturday night at a restaurant that is usually quite full on a Sat. night. This time it was not even half full.

    • queenie says:

      Tired of it, too, Nita…..And now Mr. Ego is going to NYC on Thursday.
      Ugh!

      Good morning, everyone. Sunny here but will only be 45*.

      Thanks for breakfast, lysie…….Nice sunrise, Jem, and still enjoy the evening pix, prairie.

      Enjoy your trip, Molly! Be safe.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Good rainy morning.

      Thanks queenie…Hope you’re well, and enjoying your family!

      That’s funny .. “personally boarded one of the helos…” The idea is ludicrous, isn’t it…

    • tillacum says:

      For all the nice words about the empty-suit, he just followed what Pres. W put into the works. This was Pres. Bush’s plan and the military carried it out. nobama just happened to be in the whitehouse for the finale, so he’s taking credit for it. He did ok the kill order.

  26. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  27. The Raven says:

    SIL’s dogs showed up at the Vet’s office of all places. They were at the door and the vet took them in. The Vet later saw the “Lost Dog Notice” at the local gas station and called with the news yesterday.

    So at least the guy didn’t harm the dogs.

  28. Prairie says:

    Osama bin Ladin sleeps with the fishes. Good night everybody.

    • Jemian says:

      The burial at sea makes good sense to me. I think it does effectively prevent a “shrine” being developed. What concerns me is the lack of pictures or other verification. I just don’t trust this administration at all. I also bet that Caligula darn near choked as he announced the death last night. You just know he didn’t want his fellow-moslem-and-US-hater to have gotten killed.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      We may yet get pics, they are saying Jemian. I agree about the lack of trust…I heard 0’s comments last night, and found them fairly self-glorifying, but I’ve become extra sensitive to that part of his nature, I admit.

    • Nita says:

      Stay vigiliant, more so now than ever.

      G’nite all

  29. Prairie says:

    Good afternoon everybody. Monday busy-ness here this morning and I still managed to kick back for an afternoon siesta in the recliner. So I haven’t read or listened to much news, except I find it darned odd that OBL’s carcass was tossed to the sharks as quickly as it was.

    Supposedly there are pix and DNA and yet, those can be easily doctored it seems to me. Why be in a rush to get rid of the body?? Can anybody shed any light?

  30. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Jemian says:

      Breakfast looks scrumptious, as usual. There is something for everyone.

      Saturday was a day which started out just like every other day. I did some shopping in the AM. Hubby went to get his mother right after lunch and she was going to spend the day with us.

      BUT, while I was baking a dessert for her and generally getting things ready for her visit, something spasmed in my back. Oh, wow! It was so not good. I delegated everything and went to bed. I began taking my muscle relaxer (and after not taking it for a while, let me tell you, the rest of the body relaxed!). Sunday was spent in bed with short bouts getting to necessary places in the house.

      Today is much, much better. Most will be horizontal but at least I’m not moaning and groaning when I need to walk somewhere. I’m tapering off on the meds, too.

    • Nita says:

      Good, good morning to you!! I was nearing the end of Celebrity Apprentice last evening when they broke away for special announcement. Happy to hear one of the worlds worst criminals is swimming with the fishies this morning.

      Too busy to turn on the news this morning to hear how is thing being played out politically although I care not much because by this time next month, this will be a bleep on Obama radar screen as far as elections will go.

      Am quite hungry and I wish was I hanging out at that breakfast table.

      Molly I am havening as much fun on the baseball field as I am off 😉

      Had a very nice dinner out with C, M and R saturday evening to toast the engagement.

    • lysie says:

      Hi Nita. I was thinking about you when I saw footage of the West Point celebration upon hearing the news.

      I hope things are well with you and all that you are going through. ((Nita))

    • Nita says:

      Hi Cher,

      Doing ok. Obviously quite busy which I guess is a good thing??

      Am thinking of carving out a few days to pop up for a visit. We are planning a weeks vaca in VA/NC for beginning of July.

      How are Greg, Sarah and Johnny doing as well as the animals?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Nita Planning a vacation?? Excellent! That’s definitely progress… along with the other news of the day!

    • Nita says:

      MollyYes a REAL vacation. I have a nephew who lives near OBX so we (my brother and the 3 pixies) are going to go down the friday before 4th of July and come hom around the 9th of July. Going to spend as much time on the beaches as I can.

      Listening to the WH presser right now. Such regard for his “””religion””””..hurl

  31. Molly Pitcher says:

    Good morning Raven, Jemian, lysie, till, Bitwhacker, queenie, prairie, MKH, ALL Guess we have to commend the administration for making it an All American mission. Is that true?

    How has the body been handled…? Still lots to learn…

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Info gathered at Guantanamo was key!

    • Jemian says:

      I understand the body was buried at sea. My sceptic radar is sounding at that one, quite loudly and w/o ceasing. However, it is way to early to help the re-election, so much can happen in the meantime.

    • Jemian says:

      Folks, y’all may think I’m a bit of a traitor, but I re-started the tread on FR. I’ve had a few people contact me about how much they missed the thread. Further, Toby hasn’t made the transition either. So, perhaps on a monthly basis, I’ve decided to restart the old thread.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Ok…thanks for letting me know.

    • Bitwhacker says:

      Jemian, I honestly don’t know what you are trying to do by reviving the old thread. You are also encouraging people to be snarky about this place by giving credence to people saying they didn’t get assistance to get on here and having to supply ‘subtle hints’. Over 30 people made it over here no problem. The seriously computer-challenged haven’t really tried to get on here (I got no responses back when I e-mailed), and the others just didn’t want to come here anyway.

      Not to put too fine a point on it, but one of the reasons for coming over here was because of the ever-tightening censoring of opinions on FR. Not to mention several people had FR stalkers and the fact that it’s free over here without constant appeals for alms.

      You should have called the thread something else if you are going to own it as you now do over there. Just sayin’.

    • Nita says:

      BitwhackerI agree. Not that I have contributed much here, but a lot of what my plate contains on any particular day dictates that, but I quit the FR thread because I felt I could not say what I felt without being scolded or schooled.

      I am certainly not computer literate by any stretch and if I could figure this out a lot of other people can also, Toby not withstanding.

      Someone on FR posted a thread about how embarassing the other day with all the tight hat tin foil conspiracies now that Osama is dead.

      That is the kind of crap I just can’t deal with it..the out right prejudcies, the loonacy and etc.

    • Jemian says:

      The only thing I was trying to do was connect with those who haven’t made it over to wordpress. This is people like Allegra, MamaB and some others who weren’t regulars on the ATRW but popped in every now and then to touch base. It also was to try to provide a place for a lonely man in southern Mississippi to say ‘hello’ and tell us his shack needed cleaning. He has posted several times on the February thread and, to me, his loneliness was palpable. I don’t understand why he couldn’t get on this web site, but he seems unable to do so.

      I don’t think people were being snarky about this site, but simply voicing frustrations. I have been having a little trouble with this site. I have no trouble finding it, but I have trouble following the threads and replying to the correct posts. I have discovered days later that I missed responding to someone. I read your comments to me on Tuesday and I spent quite a bit of time thinking it through (you make good points that I need to consider), but when I went to post this response today, Wednesday (it is Wednesday, isn’t it?), I had quite a bit of time finding it and almost gave up thinking that it had been deleted as something we should discuss in private. I have trouble navigating this forum and responding in timely fashion. I also miss features such as “preview” and the “To:XXXX” function. In fact, I composed this answer in MS Word and copied and pasted it over here. Those are very real problems with this format and it affects mine and others’ participation.

      You are quite right about the ever-tightening censureship at FR. ATRW lost several good and wonderful participants over it. However, two that I miss very much, although invited here, aren’t regular either. I miss them now in both places! I would like to keep both places going so that those who aren’t comfortable with FR can post here and those who are computer challenged can post on FR.

      To me, it goes down to keeping in touch with as many of my friends as I have. I am an outcast in most every group and I hate to lose any of my friends. When on FR on Monday I saw two people say how much they miss ATRW, it occurred to me that if the thread had gone into abeyance over there and if no one else was willing to pick it up, I could at least get it going. Instead of hoping “someone” would step into the gap, instead of waiting on someone else, I thought I would take the responsibility. It wasn’t a matter of wanting to be a star. It was a matter of trying to answer what I saw as a need. I don’t intend or want to “own” the ATRW thread on FR any more than I did before. If Molly and Lysie want to take over the responsibilities again, or Chair for that matter – wherever he is -, I am perfectly willing, nay, eager, to give it over to them. I went back to the same name because that is what the thread was prior to February and many were looking for the same thread.

      I’m now going to re-read your Freepmail to me and answer that in a private epistle. FWIW, I wasn’t upset by anything you said so much as sorrowful that I angered you and hurt you. For that I am very, very sorry. As I said earlier, I hate to lose a friend and I consider you a special friend. If I don’t answer it right away, it is because I am weighing my words and trying to communicate succinctly.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Jemian…Hope you can re-connect with some folks. Remember tho, a lot of people had dropped away long before the move. And others like MozartLover were/are happy to find us here.

      I’m still happy with the move and its long term life here, whereas that was a concern at FR for a variety of reasons. And I do think we did as much as we could with anyone who gave it a try to get them here. I answered lots of notes…sometimes over and over…There was just one person who sent me a note just as I went out of town at one point, and I now realize I never did get back to him. For that I’m sorry, but he was an infrequent poster.

      People can make their own decisions. I only have time to be here regularly, consistently.

    • The Raven says:

      The US special forces got ’em in spite of Obama and the Democrats.

    • The Raven says:

      And now that that’s over…lets resolve

      Obama vs. Forest Labs CEO Howard Solomon
      Obama vs. Boeing
      Obama vs. San Francisco Chronical
      ObamaCare vs. USA

    • The Raven says:

      The Press has this as Obama’s greatest moment. Maybe his only moment – certainly eclipsing finding his birth certificate after the Gov. of Hawaii came up empty.

      After throwing bin Laden’s body into the sea, along with a birth certificate, the Admin was welcoming a celebration outside the White House. The Press, asked one of them for a comment and this came out “President George Bush said the U.S. would get Bin Laden dead or alive, “and we did it.”
      Hah !!!

      I can’t believe they published it.

    • Jemian says:

      Good morning!

      Two thoughts: I wondered what was up when Prince William and Catherine decided to stay in Great Britain. I thought there might have been a threat of some sort. Second (and just a bit snarky), some terrorists have threatened retalliation by targeting our current president …. (the remainder of the thought is redacted!).

  32. tillacum says:

    I just heard Osama is dead. Some say his body was found by villagers and some say US has the body. Some think the body has been in custody for about a week and a DNA has been or is being checked. Anyhooo, the incubated one is going to appear on tv “at any moment” and give us the “real” poop. I won’t listen. I’ll wait and read it on FR.
    Anyway it is GREAT NEWS.

  33. edinva says:

    I knew better, I just KNEW BETTER than to watch that dinner. I must have turned on the same time as you, Molly, or maybe a few minutes later. There he was, launching his attack on Trump. I have watched a number of those dinners, (tho not since Colbert spent his entire time attacking Pres. Bush). Can anyone remember a POTUS attacking a private citizen who might one day be a political opponent in that type of setting? I sure can’t. Just like he did to Paul Ryan a few weeks ago and the Justices at the SOTU last year. It is so beneath the dignity of the Office. Seth Meyers from SNL did the same thing … both performances were vs. Trump, sitting at a table with his wife. Just horrible form. Neither was even funny.

    On the bright side, we had a lovely weekend here. This is the prettiest time of year in the DC area, and that accounts for its being the height of tourist season. Today was a bit overcast and cooler, but after the winter we had, I’ll take it!

    Daughter became a New Yawkuh today. She had fun walking around the ‘hood, basically Washington Square/Greenwich Village. Said it was fabulous. A pianist was playing under the arch, there was an a capella group, miscellaneous street musicians, families enjoying picnics. The Big Apple isn’t ALL bad. I was just a little surprised with its being May Day the usually commies weren’t out in force.

    I’m sending a donation to Samaritan’s Purse, the Graham charity, to help in AL/MS/GA. Does anyone know other groups that are helping with items (clothing/appliances, etc) vs. straight cash donations? I guess first they’ll have to build up roofs for over their heads. It’s going to be a long recovery, compounded by the horrific loss of life. Such a helpless feeling.

    God willing, we have a better week coming up.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hi ED I endorse your idea of that charity for the s. states….Yes, lovely time of the year in DC for sure. ..late April and May. Glad your daughter is adjusting to NYC.

      Sounds like W. is getting some credit, thank goodness, and he’s congratulating the military….nice statement from him.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      ED Another charity is Feed the Children….the conservative radio station I listen to has been using and promoting this organization to help the folks down there.

  34. lysie says:

    Good evening, Molly. Thanks for the fresh start. My turn soon?

    Yes, I did see some of the WH Correspondent’s Dinner and his smug face. I could only stand it for a few seconds.

Leave a Reply

