America the Right Way (The Weekend Edition)-Staying Vigilant-21 months left May 28-29, 2011 -Remember 9/11

Archaeologists are claiming that they have recovered off the coast of North Carolina an anchor they believe is from the pirate Blackbeard’s flagship. Its weight is estimated at 3,000 pounds.

Once again a Memorial Day weekend is upon us and once again I thank my grandfather for showing me, by example, why it was originally called Decoration Day…. a day of remembrance for those who have died in our nation’s service. Through his years, he placed thousands of flags at the graves of our vets. Thank you gramp.

Weekend Links

Lessons from Netanyahu’s TriumphCaroline Glick

The Audacity of RealityAm. Thinker

pro-0 Media always shocked by bad economic news Michael Barone

This entry was posted in Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to America the Right Way (The Weekend Edition)-Staying Vigilant-21 months left May 28-29, 2011 -Remember 9/11

  1. lysie says:

    Did anyone see this stupid title from an AP article?

    AP news Obama visits Joplin, number of missing drops.

    Sheesh!! Like he had something to do with the missing being found. Have I told you how much I hate the media?

  2. Molly Pitcher says:

    We can accomplish well over a trillion in cuts.. Eric Cantor via NRO

    Afternoon everyone…nice recognition of Memorial Day at church this a.m.

    • lysie says:

      One trillion, eh? That’s a start. I’d like to be optimistic, but there are too many rinos such as Collins, Brown and Snowe, just to name three. Not only that, there would be ads of Cantor throwing WIC moms and babies off a cliff.

    • edinva says:

      Molly, wanted to call to your attention that the Rolling Thunder bikers from up North gathered to start their trip at the Molly Pitcher stop on the NJ Turnpike!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      ED How nice of the RT bikers….I have GOT to get there myself some day. LOL!

  3. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • edinva says:

      What an elegant breakfast, Lysie, thank you!

      I did it… check one off the bucket list. Went to see Rolling Thunder as they crossed the Memorial Bridge into DC. I shouldn’t be surprised that it was more emotional than I expected. Brought back a flood of memories of the VN days and of what this country was like then vs. now. All the change hasn’t been bad by a long shot, but some .. oh, well, we won’t go there today.

      The crowd was respectful and respectable, lots and lots of American and POW/MIA flags waving from the bikers and the spectators. Bikes went on FOREVER. Many had riders who almost to a women (and it seemed to be all women riders) had out their cameras as they made the approach onto the bridge, with the Lincoln straight ahead. The RT ride really is an extraordinary tribute to those who served.

      I took some not award worthy photos that I could email to someone who knows how to post. The only camera I had was the one in my cell; it’s not great, and made worse by broad daylight when you can’t really see what’s on the screen.

    • lysie says:

      Wonderful!!
      ed, I emailed you at your gmail account. I’ll post the pics for you. It would be my pleasure.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks for the description ED and lysie, if you can post the photos that would be wonderful!

  4. mustknowhistory says:

    Let’s here it for the Scots-Irish:

    http://townhall.com/columnists/salenazito/2011/05/28/the_scots-irish_voting_bloc

    I guess there is now a voting bloc for everyone.

    • edinva says:

      MKH, All: For those interested, there’s a marvelous “museum” in Staunton, VA, the Frontier Culture Museum, that features working farms of different ethnic groups that settled what was then the American frontier. It doesn’t draw the crowds of Williamsburg or Mt Vernon, but is well worth a trip to the magnificent Shenandoah Valley to see if you’re on an historic visit to the Old Dominion.

      http://www.frontier.virginia.gov/

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That’s a feisty group. We need ’em on the right side!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks ED…noted and appreciated. While familiar with Rockbridge and Augusta counties…Staunton has remained off my radar screen. You’ve just given me another reason to return to the Valley!

    • mustknowhistory says:

      Thanks for the tip! I will put this on my list of places to visit

      I’ve been to Staunton and to the Shenadoah Valley….

      The article quotes Jim Webb….hmmmm.

    • edinva says:

      Gotta take the good with the bad. Webb IS a sitting US Senator from VA, and before that authored a book or two about the Scots-Irish, which is his heritage. The Frontier Culture Museum originally focused on those groups, but has expanded in the past several years.

      At the risk of sounding like the Staunton Chamber of Tourism, it is a darling little independent city tucked within Augusta County. The very beautiful Mary Baldwin College is in the heart of town. That’s where the female cadets were sent while VMI prepared for their arrival after losing an intense court battle to keep it male-only. (VMI is in Lexington, VA, a bit south of Staunton along I-81/64, and another cute town to visit) And, if you’re feeling all liberal, you can visit the museum for Staunton’s favorite son, Woodrow Wilson.

      The Scots-Irish-Presbyterian influence is pretty strong there. North of the city is the historic Augusta Stone Pres. Church, oldest Presbyterian church in continuous use in VA, since 1740. IIRC, Mary Baldwin was the first Presbyterian college for women in the US.

      .

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      AAACK! Woodrow Wilson….altho I have been to his post-presidency home in n.w. DC…boy was that a warm spring day, and no a.c. at that time a few years ago.

    • mustknowhistory says:

      Maybe I can convince the hubby to retire to Staunton!

    • edinva says:

      MKH … I’ve been working on just that for years now! Not necessarily Staunton itself, but definitely the Valley of VA. There’s a perfect retirement home awaiting on a ridge with a panoramic view that goes forever just waiting for me. Isn’t there?

    • mustknowhistory says:

      I don’t know about retirement homes, but there is a lovely yarn store in Raphine:

      http://www.orchardsideyarnshop.com/orchardsideyarnshop.com/HOME.html

    • queenie says:

      mkh and edinva……..Thanks for all that info. I love reading about things like that!

    • edinva says:

      MKH: I went to the knit shop site, read its history. Made me want to take a ride down there just to see it. Had never heard of Raphine! Bringing in I-81 really changed that part of the world forever. I tried to talk a friend who was driving up from AL to take the old Rte 11 instead of 81, go thru all those charming old towns. Think she did it for maybe 50 miles, so probably enough.

  5. Prairie says:

    Good morning everybody. I’ve barely had time to post anywhere on the internet, we are at a music festival, having a good time and being rejuvenated in our souls because it’s a gospel music festival.

    The opening ceremonies included Scripture, prayer, Pledge of Allegiance. Then the festival grounds owner who is a little old lady read a welcoming statement that included her opinion that we “should impeach that one who is in the White House”. LOL! She had much agreement in the audience and no visible dissent that I saw. But then, we’re still in Texas. Last night’s music was quite good, better than I’d expected. And the big act arrives today to play tonight and tomorrow. So I’m really looking forward to hearing more at the stage. It’s wonderful to hear Jesus’ name lifted in song and testimony. I feel like I’m at a revival, something I’ve been needing for months and months. Beautiful weather too.

    The jamming has been good too. My finger tips are my limiting factor….as usual.

    Anyway, hope all here have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend.

  6. edinva says:

    Good Morning, Lysie, All

    This is such a profound holiday and I suppose those we honor might just take the philosophical position that they died so others could barbeque and go to the beach, most without giving THEM a second thought.

    Am thinking of going to Arlington Cemetery tomorrow to see Rolling Thunder as they go from the Pentagon across Memorial Bridge into DC. In all these years I’ve never gone there for that observance. THO, back in the late ’60s, my then-roommates and I, all five of us, constituted the original “FReep,” counter-protesting one of the first marches on the Pentagon when the anti-war crowd took the same route as the Rolling Thunder, in reverse.

    God Bless America, and those who have and those who are willing to lay down their lives for its protection and preservation.

    • lysie says:

      Good morning, ed.

      If you do go, please, please take a camera.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hi ED…didn’t W. greet the Rolling thunder at the WH?? If you go, we’ll go with you in spirit.

      TMC is running lots of WWII movies this weekend…that was about the last time Hollywood supported wholeheartedly our country at war.

    • Jemian says:

      I agree with you about Hollywood wholeheartedly supporting our country. Yet, one of my favorite war movies is The Legend of the Green Berets starring John Wayne. IMO, the military was presented in a positive fashion.

      I remember when the movie was being filmed. A lot of it was shot at Benning. I attended Girl Scout Camp Concharty during those summers and several of the other campers were military kids whose fathers were stationed at Benning. Althought I don’t remember what they said, I do remember it was discussed a lot.

  7. queenie says:

    Good morning, everyone.

    Thank you, lysie. Breakfast looks scrumptuous.

    In grateful memory of those who gave all, that we might freely pursue happiness….. we celebrate them!

  8. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

Leave a Reply

