America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant-18 months left Aug. 1-Aug. 5, 2011 -Remember 9/11

Hello everyone!

At least the framework of a budget “deal” may have been reached. The House Rs are in a conference call, Pelosi is signalling trouble with the agreement among her merry group of bandits, and there is one SURE thing:

0 will claim credit…he probably has already.

Friday’s Links

It’s Time for Growth economics..Am. spectator

Disapproval of Congress at 82%, and other data

Another ally gets the 0 treatment Commentary

The Old Ballgame Joseph Epstein is a wonderful, wonderful writer

This entry was posted in About, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

112 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant-18 months left Aug. 1-Aug. 5, 2011 -Remember 9/11

  1. edinva says:

    Molly, unless I stay logged in with the window open, I do have to log in whenever I want to reply. After posting this, I’ll close out the window, then log in again, checking the ‘remember me’ box if it’s not already done. Will make a point this time of clicking ‘Log Out’ instead of just closing the window. That may make a difference. I like to keep as few windows open as possible, so my natural inclination is to just read/post/close. My log in bar shows WP/Twitter/Facebook log in options.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Ok…that’s what I usually do: read, reply, close…sometimes I minimize it for a few hours.

      I never log out, unless I’m using my husband’s desktop or a business center computer at some motel.

  2. edinva says:

    What Greenspan long ago referred to as ‘irrational exuberance’ done come home to roost. I fear there are a few more bubbles yet to burst. How are all these young people with mega education loans, now fully owned by Uncle Sam, supposed to pay them back if they can’t get ANY job, much less one that would support those payments?

    Why does it take half an hour (or more) for Word Press to authorize my logging in ?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      ED and prairie

      It doesn’t take me that long. Is that typical?

      Do you check the box for WordPress to remember you?
      MOST of the time I don’t have to login because I’ve checked that.

      Are you saying that each time you want to “Reply” you have to login ?

  3. The Raven says:

    The Bubbles got us downgraded

  4. Prairie says:

    hello everybody and TGIF

    I tried to leave a post earlier but somehow didn’t realize I wasn’t logged in and lost the posts. Actually, this has happened a few times, I need to figure out how to tell if I’m logged in.

    Anyway, we’ve been working hard at lumberjacking and will be taking a break next week going with a group from this area to a different mountain area resort. Should be fun, this will be our first time going.

    Hope all are well, thanks for the links Molly and everybody. I’ll try to check in again next week.

  5. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  6. Jemian says:

    Good morning! It is Friday. I’ll wear red again today.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Good for you!

      Let’s see….0 goes to Chicago for a huge fundraiser, and the next day the markets dive….

      A connection??!!

      Good morning everyone.

      The tree trimmers return today, and we’re hoping the jobs can get done efficiently and safely.

    • The Raven says:

      Good morning. I watched the market go South yesterday and was thinking “Here it comes.”

      A while back a teenager asked me who to vote for and I suggested he not vote for the “Bubbles” (this was after the DOT.COM bubble and the housing bubble). I told him the Democrats and big government types were garnishing votes by slowly filling the “US bubble” with promises that couldn’t be kept and one day the bubble will burst.

      Then I watched that MP post on how videos go viral — and wondered if I can make a “bubble” video. There would be past examples (housing, welfare, Greece) and up and coming (medicare, social security)……the idea is to get everyone calling the Dems “bubbles” and when someone asks….it gets explained.

      I have to think about this.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Bubbles video! That’s good! those You Tube videos are increasingly effective…they are cheap to produce, easily shared, tie in to people’s short attention spans, & often very, very clever.

      I’ve been spouting off about the most recent bubble too.

      The Asian markets overnight?

      Do people want to end the week with another strong sell-off? Makes for a long, uneasy weekend.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Spend time on your boat while you think about it…

    • The Raven says:

      Yep..and then a video about “tax the rich”

      Yep…We’ll be on the boat today, I hope……I’m off to Asia on Sunday so I’m taking today off. We took in my ailing MIL last month and didn’t get out much.

    • lysie says:

      Enjoy your boating.

      Excellent idea about a bubble and tax the rich video. Be sure to post them when you are done.

      Sorry to hear about your mil. Prayers up.

    • The Raven says:

      Morning quote from the WSJ about the “Bubbles”

      The economies of Europe and the United States have arrived at the moment when they no longer have any conceivable hope of being able to pay for the huge public commitments they’ve amassed the past 40 years

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      From now on it’s “Bubbles” Raven…that’ll get our brains shakin’

  7. edinva says:

    Molly, it’s sad. This guy is not yet 30 and facing essentially his own lifetime so far in jail. Not that that will be his sentence, but with grand larceny, at least a possibility. Some years ago our local PTA treasurer embezzled funds (well under $50K IIRC). Because she had a true sob story got suspended sentence and mandatory counseling.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Yes, he’s pretty talented with a pretty good personality as far as I can remember…
      Hope to be able to follow the rest of the story..

      Handling other people’s money…there’s a theme to the week here, isn’t there??

  8. edinva says:

    Molly, that’s awful about your son’s former band-mate. Can we assume it wasn’t your son’s band from whom he allegedly embezzled? Always tough, no matter the crime, to see someone you know and. at least at one time, trusted charged. I fear embezzlement charges are rarely filed without substantial evidence vs. the accused.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      no, it wasn’t…they were bandmates in h.s. over 10 years ago.

      BUT the young man in question has stayed in the music/performance business & stole from an organization which took money raised by h.s. ensembles for the competitions and made the travel, etc. arrangements for those groups.

      the head of the organization covered the loss , but at great personal cost, of course, so that’s a good part of the story.

  9. Molly Pitcher says:

    Some bad news…now grown-up, a former bandmate of my son’s has been charged with embezzling over $50,000.

    Now some good news…Amity Shlaes is writing a book about Calvin Coolidge! Excellent, excellent!

  10. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  11. Molly Pitcher says:

    Back later..errands and appt. this a.m.

    Still not clear whether the sun’s going to appear today…

  12. The Raven says:

    US borrowing tops 100% of GDP: Treasury

    What in the world will happen when this bubble bursts?
    The worst is yet to come.

    • The Raven says:

      Morning quotes:

      “….the most predictable crisis in the history of our country”
      Rep Paul Ryan on the future unsustainable Federal spending.

      … conservative presidents may be derided as stupid, but somehow they keep having successful presidencies. Liberal presidents, on the other hand, may be praised as brilliant, but somehow they keep failing. The explanation, of course, is simple: conservative policies work, and liberal policies don’t.
      -John Hinderaker in Conservatism

      Indeed, one of the reasons the Tea Parties are so “outrageously” intransigent and uncompromising is that they’ve seen what compromise has gotten in the past
      -Jonah Goldberg

      It’s a liberal town, and the essence of liberalism as I understand it, in its aspect of being a religion, is that you have to protect the lie.
      Liberal turned Conservative Playwrite David Mamet on Hollywood

      They often claim to be morally superior to others because they do not believe they are morally superior to others.
      Columnist Mike Adams on tolerant libs

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Very good…but the Mamet quote is troublesome especially since expressing ideas is his life….

      not a religion, but “cult” would be a much better word to express Mamet’s idea.

      Christians, for example, don’t have to “protect the lie” . Their beliefs are based on a documented , specific, historical event.

    • lysie says:

      Thanks for those quotes, Rav. IMO, they are accurate.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I saw that, yes, and got to thinking: Some awareness of the contradictions and delusions may be what ‘s driving so many on the Left to make the absurd claims about the Tea Party. It’s desperate, but easier than shedding the fantasies they’d prefer to cling to.

  13. Molly Pitcher says:

    0 – still the alinskyite Stanley Kurtz…trying to penetrate the One’s leadership style…

  14. edinva says:

    MKH, if it were me, I’d wear the most decent looking outfit I am totally comfortable wearing. There’s always enough stress in meeting potential future in-laws. Maybe nice slax/blouse/jacket? Properly accessorized. For major events, I tend to wear an “Old Faithful” outfit that I know looks good, feels good, so don’t have to give it a second thought. Then you can focus on actually visiting with the folks and share the joy of your kids’ budding love, not worry about being under- or over-dressed..

  15. mustknowhistory says:

    We are going to meet our son’s girlfriend’s parents on Sunday. I think this is a big deal. Maybe I won’t listen to Limbaugh today, but instead try to find something that looks nice to wear. Anyone have any ideas on what to wear?

  16. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  17. Molly Pitcher says:

    It’s all Bush’s fault!

    Repeat that 3 times while standing on your head, and you’ll be fine, see it all clearly, and will be able to write that BIG check to the government…

    Good morning everyone.

  18. The Raven says:

    Where’s Your Budget, Mr. President? – Paul Ryan in the WSJ

    Can you tell from his graph where Zero comes into play?

  19. mustknowhistory says:

    Tipping Points:

    http://spectator.org/archives/2011/08/02/american-tipping-point

    Thanks to the Tea Party movement, Conservatism is on the verge of a major victory that dwarfs the technical and actual realities of whatever the details of the resulting deficit deal passed last night. Yes, there is a long, long way to go. But the idea that America doesn’t, in fact, have to be governed for eternity as a debtor nation with a mammoth, out-of-control, ever-expanding government is winning the day. It is tipping the balance with increasing decisiveness against an idea that has become so much a part of conventional wisdom that even some conservatives, startlingly including, inexplicably, the Wall Street Journal, have displayed the wobblies at the thought of confronting the Leviathan.

  20. edinva says:

    Prayers for your friend, Molly. Hopefully just being home will be a boost.

    Being away from the internet/news so great while on vacation, that I am staying there mentally. Had to run errands and instead of my usual turning radio to Rush, I put a CD in .. good ole Aretha.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks ED…appreciate that. This is one of the things weighing on my heart., and it’s amidst much good, too, but that is life.

    • Jemian says:

      I think today was a good day to skip Rush. NOT because I disagreed with him today, but the loss was disheartening and so a change of attention is called for. I went into the garden for the first time in a month. The weeds have taken over, although not to the point of totally beginning again, and I worked for half an hour, rested and drank water, worked again, rested again, etc. I still have a bunch to do tomorrow, but I will probably be caught up by tomorrow night.

      Nope! I forgot. Make that Thursday. Tomorrow we go for the first meeting with the seamstress of THE GOWN. Fun times. The youngest has wedding jitters already and we have five months to go.

      I did want to comment that our recent trip to North AL entailed driving through some of the areas devastated by tornados. Usually one sees a path of destruction 25 yards wide and it skips and jumps. The destruction in this case is measured in MILES, not yards. Trees are broken off half-way up the trunk. Debri is tossed around. There is still much clean-up. The devastation was widespread that it will take a long time.

      But, we will recover. The trees will grow back and life goes on.

  21. Molly Pitcher says:

    One of the President’s lies today was to refer to the recent “manufactured crisis”.

    Now remember…last Nov and Dec. the House and Senate were still in Dem hands, and conferring with them then, 0 said they should not deal with the Debt Ceiling thing then, as they could use it later to divide Rs, and get them to agree to tax hikes.

  22. Molly Pitcher says:

    To Hell with you people Jonah Goldberg on the left media..

    Let’s see the list now includes…Satanic, terrorists, taking hostages.& this is just the last few days…

  23. Molly Pitcher says:

    Did some weeding outside…that was good.

    Listened to Limbaugh….not so good.

    Apparently Chuck Schumer says now they can focus on destroying more jobs…oh, wait, he said creating more jobs…silly me for misunderstanding

    • lysie says:

      Schumer is a NYS embarassment. A quote of his… to prove my statement.
      “I’m introducing legislation, it’s called the Maple Tap Act, that provides the United States Department of Agriculture grants of up to $20 million a year to states that create programs to encourage individual land owners to open up their trees to maple tapping. How did we choose these ideas? Because they’ve worked in Canada. This is how Canada greatly expanded its maple production, by doing just this. The much needed grants are a new addition to the legislation making this bill a bigger boost to the industry and to New York’s economy.”

      Hey, I love maple syrup, but come on. How much will this help the economy?

    • mustknowhistory says:

      Rush Limbaugh sounds like he is ready to give up and leave the country.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Limbaugh has always stressed his optimism, but not today.

  24. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Jemian says:

      Good day! I was scheduled for a cardiac stress today. But, it didn’t happen and will be rescheduled.

      My latest monthly prayer letter is online now: http://www.mmlott.org/prayerrequests.htm

    • lysie says:

      Good afternoon, Jem. Why did they cancel?

      Off to read your prayer letter. BBL

    • The Raven says:

      The end of Keynes ?
      A year from now, I bet none of this happens except the spending

    • Jemian says:

      The cancellation was Obama’s fault.

    • Jemian says:

      The medical corporation in which the doc was practicing has gone out of business because of the rules and regulations of Obama Care. The doc has opened practice across town, but is not set up yet to do stress tests. The new equipment has been ordered and I’ll be rescheduled.

      But the place has been taken over by the local hospital. They should have done the stress test. But, when they heard “Dr. XXXXX” they immediately gave me his addy and phone number and no other information. I traveled across town (it took an additional 15 minutes) and when I arrived at the doc’s new office I found out that the hospital had me still scheduled for the test. However, the receptionist (at the hospital) didn’t even think about that. The name of the doc was the trigger and all that registered in her mind.

      The doc’s receptionist was upset. I developed the impression that I’m not the only patient the hospital screwed over.

      Oh well. I have stuff to do today.

    • Jemian says:

      Oh yes. Why didn’t someone get in touch with me earlier about all this?

    • lysie says:

      Why oh why did I listen to his speech???
      Tax rich blah blah…He makes my skin crawl…..literally.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Sorry that didn’t work out Jemian. Try not to get discouraged.

      I was going up to Cleveland to visit a friend in the hospital, but she’s going home, so that is off. But the concern about her and her health remains…

      Also, I just heard a little of 0’s presser, and my gosh, it was bad. Unbelievably bad.

      then I had to call my husband about something. That made me feel better…now will listen to Limbaugh. & see how much i can stand.

    • lysie says:

      Prayers for your friend, Molly.

    • Jemian says:

      lysie, Limbaugh jipped that talk. Caligula just lies. He cannot tell the truth, but he makes a lot of talks from the fantasy world in which he lives. If we are hobbits then Caligula is Saruman (George Soros being worse) and Biden is Golum. John McCain is Wormtongue. Fortunately, in the end, the Ring is destroyed and the world is saved.

      Molly, Prayers for your friend. I’ve been listening to Limbaugh. It isn’t easy.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      My friend can use those prayers, yes. When she’s resettled I’ll go see her…Thurs or Friday, probably. She’s still laughing tho, and her husband, too.

      He had me laughing last night on the phone: He said, we’re used to having a 3 ring circus around here. Now we’ve started a couple of new acts! referring to the latest developments.

  25. mustknowhistory says:

    Morning Steyn on Otto Von Hapsburg, who recently died:

    http://www.steynonline.com/content/view/4311/28/

    But post-imperial Austria is Austria without a point – if not Hamlet without the Prince, then The Merry Widow without music

    • tillacum says:

      Did you read How Clean is My Valley? Something to think about when thinking of the future of our country. Also his vacation in Austria and his visit to the Baby Shop.

  26. Molly Pitcher says:

    Hi everyone…

    I understand the discouragement….we’re on a big ship – don’t think “Titanic” – and it takes awhile to change course and see the effect…the ship keeps moving forward for awhile.

    I do credit the Tea Party for all they’ve done to raise the issues of fiscal responsibility and smaller government. The fact that it’s being attacked so viciously shows how effective it’s been.

    a new bumper sticker would be? I’m a Tea Party “terrorist!

    Lots on my schedule this week…wish I could be here more.

    • tillacum says:

      I used to think of America as an Australian “Queen Ant” being moved by the worker ants. The queen ant, if I remember correctly, is 8 times the size of the average ant in her colony ants. When moving the queen from danger, it takes hundreds of ant and many days to move her just an inch or so. I cannot think of America in that vein anymore. We have a congress, both sides of the aisle, who have been out witted, at every turn by george soros, trumka and their mouth piece in our whitehouse. We Americans had better be vigilent and work to remove this ever rupturing boil from us.

  27. The Raven says:

    Morning quote from the NY Post

    “It’s not your store! Why do you care?”
    Shouts from a crowd with some onlookers threatening the AutoZone staffers for daring to run down and tackle a shoplifter.

  28. lysie says:

    Let’s say I owe $143,000. I have decided that I need another $20,400 to meet my commitments. So , I’m going to a bank for another loan. I promise the bank I will cut my spending over the next 10 years by $20,000.

    Is that the way it works??

  29. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone. Thanks for the start, Molly.

  30. Molly Pitcher says:

    The world hasn’t ended yet!

    Well what do you know??!!

    If that Cooper story is revived, that would indeed be a diversion from you-know-what…..

    Good morning everyone

    Byron York says that if no deal, and if the government starts shutting down, that would definitely be an 0 speech everyone watches where he has to talk about what checks would be going out, what services shut down, and on and on…

    York says the Rs should be happy for what they’ve achieved, and the Tea Party very proud…what ever has been accomplished couldn’t have been done without its pressure and perseverance..

    we shall see the details…

  31. edinva says:

    If the WaPo is claiming this deal is a Tea Party win and the NYT is blasting Obama, how bad can it really be? And, if he has to spend a cool billion just to defend himself and his record, things are not good in the White House.

    We have to learn the Dems longstanding strategy of incrementalism. Win the WH and a few more (ok, lots more) Senate seats in ’12 and we can start to undo the damage done from ’09-’13 and actually going back to the mid-60s..

    OMG — WMAL saying there may be a new suspect located in the Cooper hijacking from back in the 70s! ‘course he’d now have to be around 90.

  32. The Raven says:

    Zero and the Dems needed to look like adults before the polls went to zero with adults.

    • tillacum says:

      There’s a lot of pork out there that can be cut. How about NOT sending money to all the countries who dislike us, removing the dept of education, epa, osha, and a few more departments drinking from the public trough? We could save trillions. I need to finish reading Hot Air’s blog later today. Gotta get ready for stained glass class.

Leave a Reply

