America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant-12 months left February 13 – February 17, 2012 – Remember 9/11

Hello!

CPAC greeted Romney’s speech with mixed reactions….but he did win the straw poll there.

Meanwhile, more bad signs from Syria: AQ, for one, has announced support for the anti-Assad forces, and in Iran, Ahmadinajad promises a big announcement this week.

Friday’s Links

Who killed the Jobs? Powerline

Overreach:0Care vs. the Constitution Krauthammer

How can Benefits be mandatory? Am. spec.

This entry was posted in About, Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant-12 months left February 13 – February 17, 2012 – Remember 9/11

  1. lysie says:

    Good morning, Molly.

    After 15 years Greg finally wallpapered our bathroom. LOL. It’s delicate colors of grey blues, pinks and beiges. The scene is waterlilies….what else? Ha!

    No weekend plans other than music and dancing.

    How about you? I hope the work on your car is all routine.

  2. Molly Pitcher says:

    Corpsing…Mark Steyn

  3. Molly Pitcher says:

    Hi lysie…dropped the car off at the garage to be serviced, and walked back in cold, crisp, sunny air, and all around…the sound of chirping birds!

    Weekend plans?

  4. Molly Pitcher says:

    More than a Touch of Malice important bedtime reading from Paul Rahe

  5. Molly Pitcher says:

    Thanks for the update Jemian. BEst that your MIL had her wishes drawn up and are being observed….Hospice should work well, but the caregivers must consult with family, and the family can keep a watchful eye too. Any sign of pain or major discomfort…well, these can be avoided.
    People can say their goodbyes, even tho she may not seem aware of what’s going on

  6. Jemian says:

    Another update: the doctor claims that she can’t swallow and her will prohibits using a feeding tube. Hospice is being called in and MIL will be kept out of pain. We’ve been told to expect death in the next two or three days.

  7. Jemian says:

    Good morning! An update on my MIL. She is still in this world. However, she can’t swallow. The hospital also needs to a “test” of some sort. If they don’t do the test, MIL will die. If they do the test, she might die during the procedure. Pray for the right decision and affirmation to the decision makers.

  8. Prairie says:

    Jemian I just saw the post about your mil. Prayers for her and your family. God bless you all.

  9. Prairie says:

    Molly I have read other articles in past weeks about Wycliffe and SIL. If true, I’m horrified. Here’s what I know for sure, Wycliffe needs to get this investigated and if warranted, fess up and openly clean house if found to be necessary. The story isn’t going away, not in these days of the Internet, it’s even on Facebook, where I caught wind of it first and then did further research some weeks back.

    Jemian I appreciate your updates and input.

    • Jemian says:

      No, the story isn’t going away. I can only report what I know as certainty and frankly, that isn’t much. Every article I read mentions a translation in Turkey and criticism stemming from that area. I cannot tell from that whether someone attempted to dilute or accomodate or placate moslem beliefs. And, I don’t know how to trace that article back to the sources, whatever they are, and determine the truth of it. I can only repeat what the policy is and what those I know, from a wholly different part of the world, have said to me.

      I do know that sometimes people do a less than stellar job at translating. I’m not always at the top of my game in my area of expertise. I try, but at times I’m sick or distracted. At those times my own work suffers. But I do know that those translators I personally know, try very very hard to produce the best possible translation.

      I also know that we human servants sometimes make others very angry, for whatever reason. I know a local man where I work who is angry at hubby and me because he was fired for drinking by earlier missionaries. He has nothing good to say about us and he says it very loudly. I also have been told that everyone in my organization are members of the CIA. I cannot convince the person who told me that that she is wrong. Well, if that is true, Uncle Sam owes me and my husband a whole chunk of back pay.

      I don’t know the truth of this except what I have already stated. But, what I’ve learned has not given me doubts in WBT/SIL enough to warrant leaving the company.

    • Jemian says:

      Oh, one more thing, Wycliffe is responding to people who contact them at

      response@wycliffe.org

    • Jemian says:

      This just arrived in my email and is the updated public statement:


      “Wycliffe USA remains committed to the divine inspiration and authority of Scripture in the original languages, and therefore is committed to translating the Scriptures in ways that communicate accurately. Wycliffe USA is committed to preserving the eternal deity of Jesus Christ and His relationship with the Father in every translation in such a way that communicates accurately and clearly.

      “In recent weeks, the debate over the translation of the divine familial terms (words translated into English as Son of God, Son, and Father) has grown. It is the policy of Wycliffe USA that the literal translation of divine familial terms be given preference. If the accuracy of the meaning would be lost when using a literal translation, Wycliffe USA, along with SIL, has sought to provide clear guidance for the translation teams. It is this allowance, in rare cases, that is the point of debate. While Wycliffe USA believes this approach has allowed for accurate and clear translation of the divine familial terms, the concerns that have been raised in recent weeks deserve prayerful consideration.

      “Wycliffe USA applauds the decision by SIL International leaders (06-Feb-2012) to ‘put on hold our approval of publication of translated Scripture around which this criticism is focused’ for a season, while intentionally seeking ‘a fuller dialogue with our many partners globally and benefit from their input to [SIL’s] approach in Scripture translation related to this issue.’

      “Wycliffe USA and SIL have agreed to submit to a review of these specific Bible translation practices. Both organizations will participate in this conversation, but neither will control it. The formal review will be led by respected theologians, biblical scholars, translators, linguists, and missiologists from the global Church. We expect this review to produce a report that will guide future Wycliffe USA and SIL translation efforts.

      “Wycliffe USA and SIL are committed to transparency in this process, and to keeping our partners, supporters, staff, and the public apprised of its progress. Please see our commonly asked questions at http://www.wycliffe.org/SonofGod/QA.aspx for more information.

      “We are grateful for the many people who have raised questions and concerns about this issue, as they have provided an opportunity for Wycliffe USA and our partners to ensure that our commitment to accuracy and clarity is being fulfilled. Doing so has demonstrated their love for God’s Word, for Bible translation, and for those who do not yet have access to God’s Word in the language and form that will serve them best. We invite others to participate by writing to response@wycliffe.org .”

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks for the extra info and background prairie and Jemian. If there are some limited instances of mistranslation, Wycliffe should be able to isolate and correct to regain its standing and authority to the extent these have been shaken.

      Jemian I appreciate your knowledge and understanding of the valuable work these translators in the field are doing.

      This reminds me of something…the past days I’ve been listening to some discussion of the Beatitudes by 4 pastors in the Reformed tradition. How apt for the times! I love the way they set the verses into the right context and go from there.

      Rediscovering the past few years this tradition has meant a lot to me, giving me much reassurance, regrounding me & taking me back to my youngest years in church, and far, far from what liberal Protestantism has become .

  10. Prairie says:

    Lights out for LightSquared

    Phillip Falcone, big Obama bundler. And Obama’s crooked FCC dept. involvement.

  11. lysie says:

    Jem, prayers up for your mother-in-law and her loving family. (((Jem , hubby and family))

  12. Jemian says:

    I love orchids. I join Lysie in urging you to go.

    A real quick word here: my mother-in-law is very ill. Hubby and the rest of his family are being with her ’round-the-clock at the hospital. MIL is 93.

  13. lysie says:

    I hope you find some time to go to the exhibit. It will be a spirit booster. 🙂

  14. Molly Pitcher says:

    Hi lysie…There a special orchid exhibit at the Cleveland Botanical Garden for a few weeks now…want to see it so much! But not this week or the next…just have to find the time!

  15. The Raven says:

    Morning quote:

    What do you call it when someone steals someone else’s money secretly? Theft. What do you call it when someone takes someone else’s money openly by force? Robbery. What do you call it when a politician takes someone else’s money in taxes and gives it to someone who is more likely to vote for him? Social Justice. – T Sowell

    For those of you who don’t remember your history, many, many years ago, psych professors were doing experiments with mice in cages. When the mice pushed their nose against a button, they got free food. Thus was born at the same time, the Democrat party and the voting machine.

    • lysie says:

      I’m at a loss for words.

    • Jemian says:

      I can comment,

      However, I need to stress that I am speaking within my sphere of knowledge. The translation guidelines category stresses faithful adherence to the meaning of Scriptures. When the Bible speaks of Jesus as the Son of God, that familial relationship is not compromised. Wycliffe and the Summer Institute of Linguistics, sister organizations, are investigating the charges that compromises have already been made. I have talked with a translator in my area of service and she was emphatic in saying she and her team translate the Scriptures as God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit, three in one.

      Nothing that I have seen and know empirically as fact has made me doubt the slightest that WBT/SIL holds to the highest translation standards. If it had, I would be looking for another job. As far as I know, this article and others like it are just plain wrong.

  16. lysie says:

    Thanks for the links, Molly. They reinforce the need to get rid of O and his controlling band of thieves.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Anybody listening to Limbaugh??

      Discussing Dick Morris’s theory from tv appearance last night??

      Here’s the theory: the whole WH operation last week was no mistake….it was designed to further the new attack that Dems are launching: Rs actually want to ban contraceptives! That’s right….no longer satisfied with abortion scare tactics…this is the new scare game.

      There were hints that this was afoot earlier this year in a couple of odd debate questions to Romney, and so on…and now Santorum’s prominence has locked it in place.debate .

      To sum up ( my words)…Not being willing to force insurance coverage of contraceptives, etc. = banning contraceptives, which Rs would pursue in power.

      Obviously the Dems think this tactic would work among some people…

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Back to chores…

    • lysie says:

      I hope that tactic fails. Anyone with half a brain should know that even the thought of banning contraceptives would be political suicide.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      We’ll see how it develops.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Maybe this is the way to fire up 0’s youth base again??!!

    • lysie says:

      Yeah, those loveable little occupiers. /s

  17. Molly Pitcher says:

    Attack Waaaaaatch is Back Remember that 0 gang from ’10???….

  18. Molly Pitcher says:

    Jemian That’s I don’t watch the cable tv shows: overload, waaaay too much. I do like radio talk…so that’s my choice…especially particular shows.

    I do hope that some of your concerns are getting resolved!

  19. Molly Pitcher says:

    OOPS! 0 has lost this guy??

  20. Jemian says:

    I’ve been following your advice, Molly, since about Thanksgiving. I just don’t need that added tension.

    In honor of Abe Lincoln’s (and Bit’s) birthday, which was yesterday, I’ll pass on this bit of information: Abe Lincoln’s mother was buried two years before he was born. True fact!

  21. lysie says:

    That bad, eh?

    Right now , I’m dealing with 2 hungry cats and one over-sized puppy chewing a squeeky toy. Hear it? Squeek….squeek…

    The roosters are crowing to be fed and Bentley(our black horse) is rattling his feed bucket. LOL

    I prefer these sounds to radio news.
    Come visit us anytime. 😉

  22. Molly Pitcher says:

    Hey, lysie….

    It’s best not to turn on the radio and listen to the news…..that’s all I’ll say…

Leave a Reply

