America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant – 12 months left February 18-19 2012 ( Weekend Edition) Remember 9/11

A few days ago I heard Maxine Waters call the GOP “demons”. Yesterday, I read that five Republicans on the House Ethics Committee, where there is an ethics case against her, recused themselves from considering the charges against her.
This leads me to believe that they are not demons. They are chickens.

Weekend Links

Iran’s nuclear expansion AP

The New Commandments on the Barn Wall Victor Davis Hanson

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant – 12 months left February 18-19 2012 ( Weekend Edition) Remember 9/11

  1. Molly Pitcher says:

    New Week’s thread

    Hope everyone’s weekend went well, but Jemian , thinking of you and your family.

  2. edinva says:

    G’day, all ….thanks, lysie It’s now evening and I want breakfast for dinner today

    Should I know what Zumba is? Sometimes I am more out of the loop than I realize!

    We are anticipating a “major winter event” which could manifest in a variety of ways, most of which seem to include s***. We’ll see. They haven’t been right yet. The forecast shows at least 9 straight hours of it, which would be serious. All I ever really care about is losing power. The rest takes care of itself.

    Monday the City of Alexandria holds its annual GW Parade to honor the hometown boy. We shan’t get fussy and point out that Mt. Vernon is in Fairfax County, or that GW was born and raised well south of here. It would be nice for the marchers if they had a clear, halfway warm day, but they go no matter what! Imagine all those Scots/Irish groups in their kilts. A pint makes it all quite bearable 😉

    • lysie says:

      Hi ed and all.

      I thought I would be able to spend some time here today, but Greg just told me about a birthday party he agreed to going to. Can we say I’m not prepared??? I knew we could.

    • edinva says:

      Lysie, sometimes it’s best not to have a lot of time to prepare. Enjoy the party!

      My hard drive is dying, am busy burning the backup so don’t know when I’ll be back online … had to happen before 7p on the Saturday of a 3 day weekend, right ? I knew it had problems, just not how bad they were.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hi ED Would love to see that parade!

      Zumba is an exercise fad these days: dance moves to Latin music. It can be very, very aerobic and exhausting. The class I’m going to is not so much, and only goes 30 min. Still, by the end of it, my legs feel like limp noodles…The thing is the music is very happy, & we laugh at ourselves and our not so swift moves. It involves the whole body, but I pace myself a little on some of the moves, just doing the foot & hip moves for example, and not the arm and upper body moves. See?? LOL!

      You probably know someone who’s taken a class.

    • edinva says:

      Molly, you’d be SUCH a good salesperson. *I* want to sign up for Zumba.! Bet they have it at our local “Y” to which I technically belong. Last time I was there was, oh, last November. As in November 2010! Almost out of my 500 excuses not to go.

      Just sitting here with my computer backing up all my hard drive before the whole thing dies on me. How nerve-wracking. Will have access to hubby’s puter when he’s not on it, but it’s not the same as having your own, and his is so slow. I really didn’t need to have this happen. Timing couldn’t have been much worse. At least it’ll give me more time to read instead of being on the computer and I might actually do something constructive with all that time. Like get to the “Y” and take a Zumba class?.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      The nitty-gritty of life these days…computers…essential, but quite annoying and isn’t it times like the one your handling that make you wonder: What about all the time and convenience they’re supposed to save you??

      There must be an answer somewhere to this great mystery??!! LOL

      Ok, so let me know when you find your ZUMBA class!!….even saying it or writing it makes me smile….

    • tillacum says:

      I know Scots are a tough lot. They can stand the cool weather in VA as long as they keep marching.

  3. Molly Pitcher says:

    Staring into the Abyss Athens…Daily Mail….not easy to read…

  4. Molly Pitcher says:

    Good morning, and thanks for the start lysie. You nailed it with those comments.
    Back later… after Zumba!

  5. Prairie says:

    A Brokered Convention Could Be Dangerous for GOP …Real Clear Politics analysis

    Mitt Romney is Attempting to Destroy the Republican Party…Business Insider

    Good Saturday morning everybody, how about a little political analysis to get the weekend started? (Not that we aren’t probably fed up to the gills with it) Anyway, a couple of decent reads link above.

    One show down with two to go, one of them today at a festival. Early afternoon performance so that will be better than evening at least in my book. Have a good weekend everyone.

Leave a Reply

