America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- December 24-December 28, 2012 Remember 9/11

It is being reported that Obama in his inaugural address and his State of the Union addresses will blame the GOP for the fiscal cliff negotiations failure.

It reminds me of a shirt Greg bought me years ago. On it is the saying, “I didn’t say it’s your fault. I’m just blaming you.”

From my husband it’s funny. From a president it’s pitiful!

Listen to this. It is one of my all time favorites. Very soothing.

Friday’s Links

Robert Bork Appreciation Wash. Examiner

What I learned in the Poverty War City Journal

This entry was posted in Daily Thread, Threads, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- December 24-December 28, 2012 Remember 9/11

  1. Molly Pitcher says:

    Weekend thread

    lysie and ED..yes some local store closings, etc announced in the past few days…

    on the other hand, some new restaruant, part of a chain – Zoup! – is opening not far from us…anyone heard of it?

    • edinva says:

      Molly, never heard of zupa! but sounds like something you should have had over the past week while you were suffering the bug. Get a little chicken soup, it’ll fix ya right up. When you think of it, a comfort food like soup is a brilliant theme for a restaurant during hard times. Assuming folks have $ to go out even for soup.

      So, g’day to ye. We are having a gentle snow as I type. Don’t think it will amount to anything (famous last words). Just enough to keep me off the roads which are probably clear. I don’t know why, but this holiday season I feel more and more like just staying inside and appreciating a roof over my head, warmth, and good food to eat. All the running around and work can resume next week. Oh, Monday will be our 32nd wedding anniversary so for our big whoop celebration we are planning to attend a matinee showing of Les Miz. We’ll be home before dark. Are we an exciting, party animal couple or what?

      Enjoy your day(s) !

  2. lysie says:

    ed, that is so sad…losing a job.

    I guess this won’t make any of us feel any better.

  3. edinva says:

    lysie, with a 3 day workweek (for those who worked) and New Year’s Eve coming up on Monday, passing on TGIF is probably a good idea.

    In the past 2 weeks I’ve heard of four people I know personally who have lost their jobs. And, I strongly suspect it has nothing to do with their job performance. All are in the Washington DC area which has been least affected nationwide. Honestly, I only see it getting worse. At one time a laid off worker could think something else, maybe better, will come along, I am not feeling confident that is any longer the case. Sorry to be Debbie Downer.

  4. Molly Pitcher says:

    All right!

  5. lysie says:

    Good morning, Molly. Yes, that would be nice. Thanks.

  6. Molly Pitcher says:

    Hoyer: House GOP are like child hostage takers threatening to shot

    Deep, calming breaths, Molly, deep, calming breaths….

    • lysie says:

      Gosh, I’m surprised he didn’t throw in something about Gabby Giffords as well. Oh wait. That was so yesterday. Must be current.

      What a complete fool!! The next time he opens his mouth I hope he bites his tongue…bad….real bad. So much that it swells up and he is not able to eat or drink for days and days.

  7. Molly Pitcher says:

    Good morning!

    Steny Hoyer said something crazy yesterday?? Need to track it down…

    lysie m’dear, may I start the thread tomorrow?

  8. Molly Pitcher says:

    Charles Durning: RIP I’m almost positive…Durning was a true, red, white and blue Hollywood Conservative

  9. tillacum says:

    ed, like your plans for the 20th. I also like you idea of the whitehouse creature staying in HI for the rest of his life. We really don’t need to see his face and hear his voice on this continent.

    lysie, we’re going back on the low-carb diet. I’m a meat eater and Rog is a veggie person. So I’ll do a LOT of salads and cabbage family for Rog and meat, fish, chicken, shell fish etc for me, but we’ll share both. Bread, cakes, pies, potatoes, carrots, parsips, and all those delicous things will disappear from here for some months. Even my champaign will be relegated to the laundry room and I’ll sacrifice the olive in my martini…Rog can have it…it’s a veggie, isn’t it?

    On Jan 4th, we’ll have a bunch here…The Texas Aggies will face off the Oklahoma Sooners in the Cotton Bowl. I’ll have “healthy” snacks, Low Carb. One our friends will gripe, so I’ll put out some nuts for him. The dips will be accompanied with veggies, ie, celery and sweet peppers.

    • edinva says:

      Wow, who knew carrots and parsnips were high carb? I am starting a low carb diet on the 1st or maybe the 2nd ? (no sense rushing into anything). Let’s hope by Spring we a little less ‘fluffy.’

    • The Raven says:

      Yep….root veggies are high carb…..I was on Atkins last summer and lost weight to the tune of 20 lbs.

      Some veggies are high carbs as our fruits….

      ….I read the book ” Why we get fat” which says do the opposite of what Michelle my bell says. good advice on anything by the way.

    • lysie says:

      An Atkins type diet has me a few sizes smaller. Greg and I go off once a month for one weekend. By the time the weekend is over I’m begging to go back to the Atkins. All the carbs give me the creepy crawlies.

  10. lysie says:

    We have far too much snow (8-10 inches? overnight). Sarah and John are going back to MA today after a very pleasant visit. They will take their time.

    Till, I’m happy you enjoy them. Today’s breakfast, on a day like we are having, looks exceptionally nice.

  11. Molly Pitcher says:

    Dietetically incorrect This is about the author you mentioned awhile back Raven

    • lysie says:

      I am a true believer of low carb eating. Greg’s cholesterol was borderline high-ish. After going on low carbs it was much lower. The same doctor who didn’t want to take him off the second bp medicine asked what Greg was doing differently. Greg told him. His doctor’s no reply was proof to me that many doctors don’t like their patients making decisions without their consent.

  12. tillacum says:

    You always fix the prettiest breakfasts.

  13. Molly Pitcher says:

    You’ve gotten a lot of snow, right?
    We lucked out…

  14. Molly Pitcher says:

    Thanks for everyone’s concern and get well wishes…

    ED Love your plans for the 20th…perfect.

    • edinva says:

      Good morning, everyone. Hope our friends to the North are dug out while the rest of us go about getting back to our ‘normal’ routines and also hoping Molly is worlds better.

      Molly, after I’d posted our 1/20/13 plans, I realized that quite inadvertently we will be meeting near the place that Congress had set during the Cold War as its refuge in case DC was hit with a nuke. I’m enjoying the symbolism, myself

  15. lysie says:

    Sweetie, happy you are back. We’ve been concerned. Don’t do too much. Rest, rest and then rest some more.

    I hope you were able to enjoy some of your Christmas day with your family.

  16. Molly Pitcher says:

    Late Christmas blessings to everyone.

    The “bug” has departed, but in its aftermath: no energy, no appetite. What a Christmas.

    Seems fitting for this particular year, does it not?

    Ended up with a Z-Pac and an inhaler to help break up the congestion.

    Well enough of that kind of news….blech.

    Please be safe everyone…snow off and on heavy here. snowblower ready to go…

    • edinva says:

      Molly, glad to hear you’re at least on the road to a full mend. There is one really nasty bug going around and it sounds like it caught you. Lysie is right, just rest, rest, rest. It’s the only thing that’ll work from here on out.

      Grateful to have heard that dear daughter/son in law made it to New England with no flight delays at all. That had to be one of very few today, especially heading North. I checked the BWI website (Baltimore-Washington Intl Airport a/k/a Thurgood Marshall Airport) — about 2/3 of their flights were delayed, many cancelled, with a few on time. Speaking of flights, I hear POTUS is flying back tonight? Why can’t he just stay in HI? Like forever? He just wants to come back here and make noise about the waskawy Wepublicans taking us over the proverbial cliff. God, he is one arrogant POS.

      Now that Christmas is behind us, and planning for the near-ish future, I made plans today with two friends for us to spend a day of commiseration on Jan 20 at a little town out in the Shenandoah Valley.

  17. lysie says:

    Snow here, too ed.

    Our Christmas went well, too. Sarah and I are so much alike. I bought her a “daughter” necklace. She bought me a “mother” key chain. I think we like each other. Ha!

    After our Christmas meal we went to visit my brother, s-i-l and dad. Dad looks good. From what I hear he is behaving. I pray that is so. It was good to see them all looking well.

  18. edinva says:

    Good morning all , Surprising snow this morning! Pretty, soft and white, so far sticking to cars, grass but not the roads. I doubt we’ll see much if any accumulation.

    Our guests all left this morning 😦 What a wonderful long holiday weekend weekend we had, and 100% stress-free. Molly and Jean-Baptiste are flying up to New England to meet his family for a weekend of skiing before heading back to NYC for New Year’s. Matt has to drive in this to get back to Richmond. Poor guy had to work till 11:30p Christmas Eve then drove up here, so not much of a relaxing holiday for him. One would have thought lysie was feeding us throughout the weekend .. such beautiful meals. The diet starts today!

    Molly, how are you feeling? I hope your bug has left you completely.

    Best part of the holiday: POTUS is 5K miles away! Wish they’d take up permanent residence in Paradise, but a 2 week respite will have to do.

  19. The Raven says:

    I was to drive up I-81 today to mom’s but there is snow and ice the entire route. So postponing a day — luckily I have enough vacation days to delay a day
    I was just thinking of the Chair’s Christmas pics and went looking for him on FR but couldn’t remember the exact spelling/syntax of his extensive username. Saw that I had an unanswered post to Iowa Granny from ages ago.
    Then I remembered that I’m not sure why I’m here and not there. I think I was traveling heavily when everyone left FR and I never did get the story or I don’t remember if I did.

  20. tillacum says:

    MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE. God is Good…he’s giving us a wonderful lightening and thunder show, plus some great rain..Wish the rain was white and soft, but we’ll take the rain as is.

    Molly hopefully you’re feeling a bit better. God’s blessings to you on you this day. (((Molly)))

  21. tillacum says:

    Beautiful, beautiful. MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU, GREG, SARAH AND THE “GANG”

  22. edinva says:

    Molly, so sorry you’re sick at all, much less for Christmas 😦

    Happiest Christmas greetings to all. We are having traditional pho for Christmas Eve dinner. As long as someone else is cooking it works for me. I have duty tomorrow for Christmas dinner.

    God bless y’all. Merry Christmas!!!

  23. queenie says:

    Merry Christmas, everyone. HUGS!

  24. queenie says:

    Hope you feel better very soon, Molly! Take good care.

  25. Prairie says:

    Good Christmas Eve morning everybody! Hope this finds you enjoying your Christmas with the preparations done or in place. We’re having a very good time visiting daughter. She took us to a production of White Christmas last night, very cute. Today I think we’ll be going to a high-end craft fair and then to candlelight service. Lots of fun Christmas movies, Nutcracker etc. already TiVo’d on her telly, so we’ll have our entertainment as well.

    Tomorrow, we decided on a Texas Christmas meal…brisket, Texas toast, corn on the cob, jalapeno appetizers, BBQ beans, pie. This will be after the traditional Christmas morning sausage / egg casserole. I think we’ll be meeting some of her friends tomorrow as well, looking forward to that.

    God is so good! We are Joyful about his purpose and perfect plan. May God fill your hearts and homes with his love and peace this Christmas.

  26. lysie says:

    Awwwww!

    So sorry, Molly. Sending you hugs.

  27. Molly Pitcher says:

    so slow to recover..so tired, a little less achy. what a sickness..miss you.

  28. tillacum says:

    Yummy, yummy.

  29. The Raven says:

    This is getting real old with Obama blaming his incompetence on others – but that IS his ONLY competence. The GOP should have a well thought out response that is effective and devastating to Zero

    • Two Thirds says:

      Good morning All,
      I’m a huge proponent of replacing Boehner with a true conservative. He has proven himself unfit to be Speaker with multiple cavings and a complete disaster when it comes to negotiations, not to mention his thuggish removal of Tea Partiers from committes using his secret “voting list”. There are a number of really good names being floated around. One interesting thing is that one does not have to be a member of the H.R. to be Speaker.

    • tillacum says:

      We can hope.

    • The Raven says:

      Bill Whittle–for speaker???

Leave a Reply

