America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant January 12 and 13 , 2013 ( Weekend Edition)

For me, it’s hard to believe we are in the second week of January. What have I accomplished in the first weeks of the new year? A little.

Experts are saying there is a new computer security threat with Java. http://www.foxbusiness.com/technology/2013/01/11/as-hacking-concerns-build-us-warns-on-java-software/
le

Instructions on how to disable Java here: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2414191,00.asp

Weekend Links

Sales of Guns Soar NYT

America: the Kardashian Years Am. Thinker

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant January 12 and 13 , 2013 ( Weekend Edition)

  1. Molly Pitcher says:

    New week’s thread

    You and your animals missing each other is quite understandable….I’m sure G. substitued quite well, however 🙂

  2. lysie says:

    Tonight, for the first time in weeks, I was able to walk out to the barn to take care of the boys and chickens. Greg has been doing it. I think they all missed me. Sammy, one of our roosters, came to me and smiled. Yeah. I know. How could I tell?

  3. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  4. The Raven says:

    Argh. I have it! The solution to guns!!

    Almost all of the felons in prison vote Dem. So therefore if follows that they are born with some defect that makes them vote the way they do, and also to grab dad’s gun and use neighbors and kin for target practice on occasion.

    So the solution is simple. All we need is to neuter them when they are young. Here in TN, the vets have a van they use for a mobile hospital and neuter cats and dogs while you get your groceries.

    We can steal that idea. On election day we can pull the van up next to the Panthers and the Union’s and then when the wrong lever is pulled, a light will signal the on-site team and the clippers come out.

    • The Raven says:

      Yesterday, the better half needed hiking shoes and we went shopping at Gander Mt as well as Academy. While she was browsing at Gander, I wandered back to guns and my jaw dropped. Seemed like everyone in the store was in line to buy a gun. The shelves, once stacked with ammo were empty. Even the cleaning kits were gone. Completely wiped out. I heard the sales guy saying his recommendation would be the same gun he owns personally, but they are out of stock. The customer said he wanted something in stock – even if used.
      Anyway…no good shoes were found at Gander…so off to Academy we went to try again. Here too, I wandered back to hunting. The gun department was a fraction of the size of Gander and the lines were still there but shorter.
      Sooooooo, I was not about to get caught up in this emotional reaction to liberalism and I was not about to buy a gun since I didn’t know anything about them,…. …and…. I did what any red-blooded, law abiding, constitution loving American would do…..I got in line.

      Hah!!

      But, I didn’t have a clue what I wanted. As the line passed by rifles, I began thinking — maybe a 22 with a scope for target practice. Then I thought a shotgun for protection would be the ticket. The line I was in then paralleled the glass case with semi-automatic handguns and by the time it was my turn, I had him pulling out SIGs, Glocks, and Smith and Wessons. My wife just then appeared with two boxes of shoes in hand and a deer in the headlights look when she saw me looking down the front sights of a 9 mm. I said to her “Hold this…see how light it is,” and she backed up into a display and knocked it over.

      The guy told me they had the guns in stock but there was no ammo or cleaning kits. Maybe tomorrow, maybe not. I said “I’ll take it” and filled out the paperwork. I cleared background check in less than 2 minutes which the salesman told me was some kind of record.

      Anyway, I soon was the proud owner of a classic semi-automatic – a Beretta 92. Two more things to do…..ammo and join NRA. I convinced my wife that a trip back to Gander was now necessary to see if they had the ammo, although by the looks of the shelves when I was there, I had little hope. We went there anyway and as I walk back to Guns…..they are at the moment restocking the shelves with a new shipment, surrounded by customers then taking boxes and putting them into their carts (one of the guys gave me the creeps). I grabbed some ammo and headed to the cleaning kits area. No luck here, but I found a gun safety book.

      Now, I need to find a gun safety course nearby for both of us.

      ,

    • tillacum says:

      I personally think it is wonderful you have joined the rest of us who belive a gun is a “good thing”. Yes, a gun is a good friend, when it is needed. The more guns, the fewer crimes. Now to do something about the do gooders in dc who have people carrying guns to protect THEM, and want to take ours away.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      OK! Yes, gun safety class very important. Congrats Raven …You did respond a little emotionally to the sight of those long lines & empty shelves, etc. but hey…even conservatives will do that under certain conditions.

      A friend of ours took his college age daughter to the range over the holidays…She handled the revolver well..but demurred at the larger pieces…but it was a first time, so he counted it a success, particularly since her mother is so anti-…

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Good morning till

    • The Raven says:

      Yep, till…..you know they always say that if they take the guns then only the bad guys will have them. But it isn’t true….the government will also have them.

  5. edinva says:

    G’day all .. tho it’s 11p EST. We had an unexpected (till mid-week) visit from our daughter who had business in DC on Friday, so came here after that was concluded, then off today to meet up with her husband and his family who are in town. Her sister in law lives in DC and is getting married next Summer, so they are starting all the wedding shopping and planning. Gown first! Everything else revolves around that, doesn’t it? Tomorrow is my hub’s birthday, so she and said hub are coming over for breakfast before continuing the gown hunt. I am appropriating a lysie breakfast to serve (a version of your stuffed french toast, done as a ‘strata’ or casserole). So, decidedly something to look forward to!

    Plenty of time to get into the horrible political situation after they’re gone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Oh a wedding! Deciding on venues is near the top, too!

      Happy Birthday to your husband ED

    • lysie says:

      Happy birthday to your hubby, ed.

    • edinva says:

      Molly … they have already chosen their venue … Thurmond, MD, more famously known for Camp David. I’m not sure, but I think the bride-to-be is fine with the current tenant. None of *them* will be there in August, anyway. They’ll be at Martha’s VIneyard or some equally glitzy resort.

      Younguns have been here and gone. Thank you, Molly, and lysie, .I shall pass along the birthday greetings. I think the breakfast began and ended the festivities for this year. Last year was a biggie, this one not quite so much… tho every day is a gift.

      We’ve had London-like fog all weekend, save a few afternoon hours. The forecasts had been for very spring-like weather, and it’s warm enough (probably causing the fog). But no sunshine yet today and it’s already after noon (tho barely). At least we’re not looking at 20″ of snow, so I’m good with that!

      What is everyone doing next weekend to CELEBRATE the Inauguration and MLK Day?

  6. Molly Pitcher says:

    Less courage, more free market PJM
    My goodness, it is so warm, my husband is cooking out tonite….snow has vanished, yippee…

  7. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

Leave a Reply

