America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant February 9 and 10 , 2013 ( Weekend Edition)

Boston, NYC and other areas in the Northeast still have severe weather advisories. Many people are left without power. Here, we have about 4 inches.Thankfully, it fizzled out, so far.

I’m giving you all an assignment. Far too ofen, today, we see many children at the early ages 12 and under involved in unlawful/unethical events. Instead of breaking the law or being obnoxious what were you doing during those years? What stopped you from bad behavior? For me, one would be baseball.

Weekend Links

Our future will be like Hunger Games

The Perfect Contrast I just can’t get over Dr. Carson’s speech, all that he’s accomplished by not being a victim, and speaking the truth just inches away from 0.

Skeeter President: Mock on Americans PJM

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant February 9 and 10 , 2013 ( Weekend Edition)

  1. Molly Pitcher says:

    New week’s thread

    And also this week: Valentine’s Day!

    I spoke to a friend at church this a.m. She’s in her 80s and says she’s never had a sweet tooth and hasn’t eaten chocolate for over 60 years!

  2. lysie says:

    Thank you everyone for all your posts about how it was when you were growing up. Those were pleasant days for all of us. We all lived within rules and never felt deprived. On the contrary , we were blessed.

    • edinva says:

      Anyone from MS/AL? Nasty down there tonight. Prayers for all in the region

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I saw all that stormy weather on the WC radar…bad, bad business and at night too.

      WE enjoyed reminiscing too! Not sure I answered your question the way you wanted, tho.

      Reading and outdoor activities, lots of schoolwork kept me busy. Loved certain tv shows like Lucy, leave it to Beaver…

  3. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • tillacum says:

      Nice breakfast lysie. Yesterday we worked, for about 3 hours in our community garden. It was nice, cloud cover, cool and we accomplished a lot. We pulled all of the collards and mustard greens and put them in the compost heap. Put in 4 more “raised” gardens, about 6 inches high. Mowed and 2 trees fell, so they got cut up and hauled away. Now we’ll be meeting again and plant some peas, like black eyed, purple hull, cream (really beans), some snap and chinese peas, carrots, etc. I’ve discovered there are some truck tires in a nearby place, so I’m going to see if they’ll let us have 2 or 4, then paint them white and use them for the beginning of higher raised gardens. We’ll leave room for the in-ground plants. Then we got about 10 minutes of hail then some nice soft rain, so we came home.

      At 12 years? Fishing, hunting, picking berries, participaing in row boat races, baseball, building airplanes, baby sitting. Times were different then. Everyone watched out for every child, corrected them, then told the parents…that was the worst part, because our parents really corrected us again. I can remember my mother, if we did something and it
      was reported to her…..She’d look at the offender and say “I was SO EMbarrased, Mr/Mrs
      told me you did or said…..How could you do or say that. When that happened it made us feel like a penny asking for change.

  4. The Raven says:

    Morning all. After a week of driving the truck to work and then realizing I’d need to stop three times each way to get gas (I have a 30 mile trip and the Hemi is a gas guzzler) — I decided to leave the truck at home as a weekend utility vehicle and get a high MPG commuter car for everyday stuff. Did that yesterday – got an Elantra and retired the Dodge RAM. Speaking of Paul Harvey…… Nice parady of libs here.

    • The Raven says:

      When I was 12…..avid New York Yankees fan (Boos to Bill Mazeroski) and also would (on nice days) shoot hoops with my friends, and on rainy days……we had a pool table/ping pong table in the basement – or if by myself, I had a nerdy desire to read the encyclopedia cover to cover

    • The Raven says:

      Summer was also the time for bike riding, Little League, grass mowing, and swimming at the community pool. Also remember when I was 12, I was in Boy Scouts and we had a father/son project. They gave everyone a bag of junk (piece of wood, string, coat hanger, corks, tin can, piece of cloth, etc) and we (Dad & I) were to do something with it and present it as an entry in this contest for the best team. My father did most of the work and turned the junk into a piece of art. A beautiful boat !!! We almost took first prize, but in order to win, the panel of judges asked me about a metal piece holding the life preserver (made from the cork). I had no clue and they docked us points for using something not in the bag of junk. I later learned my father had made the piece from the coat hanger….but had hammered it flat so it bore no resemblance to its previous shape, and if I had known, we would have won hands down.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Nice memories Raven…You bought a truck??? Is that what you’re saying? the things that happen while I’m away!!

    • edinva says:

      Elantra’s a nice ride, but I really dislike our not being able to have a big ole Ram or, in my case, an Expedition without breaking the bank on petrol. .

  5. edinva says:

    lysie, good morning, thanks for the stick to your ribs breakfast and the thought/assignment. (Glad your storm petered out in CNY)

    When I was 12 there was no thought whatsoever given to breaking the law or engaging in unbecoming behavior. It was unimaginable. And that was the common culture, the social mores of the time. ‘Course that was the 50’s that are so mocked today. Those days are long gone

    Keeping my own kids (now adults) clean involved a LOT of extracurricular activities:. swimming/diving/tennis/soccer/dance/historical reenactments. By high school when more choices, good and bad, were presented they weren’t tempted by anything that could get them into serious trouble. Thank GOD!

    • lysie says:

      How about your friends’ parents? How about the neighbors? Did they expect decency from you? I know many of mine did.

    • edinva says:

      lysie, I guess that’s what I mean by ‘common mores of the time’ …everyone expected a certain behavior and that assumption was unchallenged. Everything went to hell in a handbasket from the late 60s forward. Lots of reasons, most visible was the anti-war movement with students taking over campuses, while administrators cowered. Segments of the civil rights movement turned violent. There was the removal of prayer from public schools.The “Great Society” gave incentives to having babies out of wedlock, and began generations of children having children. It was when ‘living together’ and ‘recreationa’l drug use started in the middle class. It was when the left took over the Democrat party. That period (estimate) 1967-1972 saw what was probably the most massive change in American social ‘culture’ ever.

    • lysie says:

      Yes, ed. I now see your original “common mores of the time” in your post. I didn’t sleep well last night and the coffee hadn’t kicked in. 😉

      Some kids got in trouble. Usually for smoking off school property or slugging each other.

    • edinva says:

      OMG .. lysie, you reminded me .. our H.S. had a rule (actually it had TONS of rules, accompanied by demerits) there was no smoking within sight of the school. As our smokers’ good fortune would have it, the road leading away from the school curved just past the parking lot. Voila! You could not SEE the school. And, conveniently, there was a nice stone wall right there .. so that’s where everyone congregated to smoke before and after school. There was one teacher who would drive by the puffing enclave each morning and, as he got within sight of them, turned his head the other way so he didn’t SEE them.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Afternoon lysie and ED..

      Well what I should have written instead of “time to think” was “needed time to post”, which I didn’t have earlier when I read your question.

      Not really much to think about as the strongest influence at those ages and well into teen years and beyond was my father. I couldn’t have born the thought let alone the act of disappointing him, yet I’m sure I did from time to time, but not in any egregious way.

      So my father’s influence meant a great deal, and also the 50s emphasis on correct behavior in school, church, with friends, etc. Most everyone in the little town where I lived my earliest years, at least SEEMED, to be on the same page. That person could be white or black, professional or more working class, at least on the surface there seemed more commonality than we now have. No doubt, I’ve idealized it, but really…how much

      Oh my goodness..think of how “repressed” we were! LOL!,

    • lysie says:

      How about Ozzie and Harriet, Donna and Alex , Ward and June, Timmy and Lassie. Yes, Lassie. She showed love, commitment and courage. 😉

  6. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

Leave a Reply

