America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant March 23 and 24, 2013 ( Weekend Edition)

A quick start. Back later, folks.

Weekend Links

Geopolitical ADHD Saturday’s Steyn

We’re All CVS Employees Now under 0Care, that is…

Where Higher education went wrong Glenn Harlan Reynolds

NBC to get taxpayer subsidy AAARGH!

0Care isn’t forever Jay Cost

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to America the Right Way – Staying Vigilant March 23 and 24, 2013 ( Weekend Edition)

  1. lysie says:

    Ed, I heard about that. I’ve searched various news sources and , so far, I can’t confirm Assad’s assassination by his bodyguard. Huge story if true.

    • edinva says:

      lysie, bigger even than Syracuse beating Cal ! Congrats, btw.

    • Jemian says:

      I’m trying to search through reports on this. It seems apparent that Assad was shot. What isn’t apparent is dead or alive? I honestly don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing. There is the maxim that if your enemies are fighting amongst themselves….

    • lysie says:

      Ha! Thanks, ed. SU plays Indiana on Thursday. Sports and music. Two wonderful ways to take a break from the news.

    • lysie says:

      Hi Jem. Hope you slept well.

    • Jemian says:

      I did sleep well. But I had a nutty dream which has had me laughing all morning long. It seems that I was helping out a friend at his house and then all of a sudden we get married. Then, I’m in another place and two friends come in with their preacher and get married and the man I’m working with says, “let’s go ahead and get married now and save time.” So I agree. Then, I realize I just married two men! So, as I wake up I’m trying to figure out how to annul both marriages and am wondering if the guys would be mad.

  2. Molly Pitcher says:

    Israel forced into humiliating apology to 0’s pal Erdogon…Andrew McCarthy, PJM

    Ok….back later this afternoon

  3. lysie says:

    I slept well, Molly. Yes, I’m staying home and relaxing. Greg made French toast , sausage with his homemade maple syrup. Just what the doctor ordered.

    Did you know maple syrup is a source for magnesium and potassium? The doctor said those were a little low, too.

  4. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  5. lysie says:

    Let me explain my hit and run posting today. Last night we went to listen to a “not our usual” band, They are very skilled musicians. After about one hour I felt nauseous and dizzy. Next thing I remember is being on the floor. I had no pain, I was offered water and OJ. After the OJ I felt better so I was thinking low blood sugar , hypoglycemia, I spent 4 hours in the ER and that was the conclusion,

    We got home around 5 am. We planned to attend an anti- Safe Act rally in Syracuse at 11 am. I told Greg that I was not feeling up to it…..then fell asleep for a few hours. When I woke up I said that we must attend the rally. Greg had a folding chair for me. I’m happy that we went. There were about 1,000 people there.

    The rally-The Revolution Against Tyranny Continues… In Opposition to the NY SAFE Act

    I’m feeling better so don’t worry. Doctor’s orders “carry candy with you”. Okay. Ha!

  6. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  7. Molly Pitcher says:

    Thanks for the start lysie

    We had a dreadful story locally yesterday or the day before: a number of horses were rescued on the near point of death…starved and abused. I hope they can recover, God bless them

    Off to exercise, then chores at home…taxes and so on…

    • edinva says:

      G’day, all. Thanks for breakfast, lysie. I am ambitious this morning and will be making banana nut bread!

      The Washington Examiner story REALLY upsets me. At every Metro station and at miscellaneous points throughout the city and ‘burbs where newspapers are sold/distribute there’s an Examiner box and an Express box. They are free conservative and liberal papers, respectively. The latter is published by the WaPo. The Examiner is the ONLY way ordinary Washingtonians ever see a story from the conservative perspective. It isn’t in-your-face conservative, just news and views presented from a different (conservative) perspective.

      One of my sons wrote for the Examiner’s online edition a few years ago. He was the ‘libertarian conservative’ writer until he turned libertarian-liberal 😦 Hopefully he will grow out of that.

      I understand the business decision, but this is a serious loss of readers of conservative writings.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      A few weeks ago, Human Events went the same way..

      It’s a shame.

      Save some of the banana nut bread for me!

      I made some red velvet cupcakes for coffee hour at church tomorrow….from a mix
      Then I went out and bought a tray of spring time cookie assortment at the grocery 🙂

    • edinva says:

      Molly, just be sure not to slip on snow/ice and spill your spring cookies! We have sunshine and relative warmth (51) today but it’s gonna drop with snow/ice/rain expected tomorrow through Monday.

  8. The Raven says:

    If you have some bad weather today……why not do a little “back to school” – although you won’t see any of this in our lib controlled schools

Leave a Reply

