America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- December 9 – December 13, 2013 Remember 9/11

Hello!

Weather News: A very strong and tricky winter storm is hitting the East Coast today and thru the overnight period. Ice and lots of snow are the major ingredients.

Foreign affairs News: Afghanistan is striking a security deal with Iran, after refusing to come to terms on one with the U.S. NOT a good development.

And U.S. Domestic Politics News: an administration official has proclaimed the need for a major effort to promote and publicize 0Care. WHAT, Again?? How many times are they going to try to put lipstick on a pig??

MSNBC’s Alternative Universe NRO

His Approval plunges among his coalition 0bama…

Income Inequality: biggest lie of all PJM

0’s 4 state solution from the inestimable Caroline Glick

He didn’t bow?Powerline

Humility vs. Arrogance Am. spec.

President Selfie

The Myth of the Individual Mandate James Capretta

$300 million and 44 enrolled Oregon….but the ads were GREAT!!

0 the Oblivious Krauthammer

IRS targeting: round 2 WSJ…but never mind, this administration is truly benign and benevolent

Keystone to the Kingdom buying the WH…?

This entry was posted in About, Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- December 9 – December 13, 2013 Remember 9/11

  1. The Raven says:

    [Surprising] Morning Quote:

    The 1st Amendment protects not only the right to express one’s own views but also a right not to be compelled to convey someone else’s.

    LA Times ed. on forcing a photographer to work on a gay marriage

  2. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  3. Prairie says:

    Paul Ryan sells out Senate Republicans

    Senate Republicans scrubbing the Ryan-Murray budget deal have come across a little-noticed provision that will limit the GOP’s ability to block tax increases in future years.

    The bill includes language from the Senate Democrats’ budget to void a budget “point of order” against replacing the sequester cuts with tax increases.

    The process is quite complicated, but in practice it grants Harry Reid the authority to send tax increases to the House with a bare majority, rather than the 60 vote threshold that would be required under the point of order.

  4. Bitwhacker says:

    Happy Thursday!

    Sorry I have been MIA, just got overtaken by events.

    Have you been signing up new users on this thing? I got a couple of alerts about new people either signing up or following threads. Might need to expand — I think the max users in this mode is 32….

    Everything is going OK for me. I finally finished up in Gaithersburg, MD and now split my time going back and forth between Tarrytown and Albany, NY (go right past Neets’ exit for the Albany trip). Probably be doing this for 2-3 years the way things look. (And did you know that Newww Yawkers run red lights here for sport? Couldn’t believe it until I saw it.)

    Hope eveyone is well and happy and excited about the season.

    Bit

  5. tillacum says:

    I heard of a Talkathon too, but didn’t hear who would participate. That’s one way of getting around
    Reid’s filibuster.

  6. Prairie says:

    Molly a very happy belated birthday to you, hope you had a great day!

    Good morning everybody. Mr. Prairie is sick….sinus, very sore throat, cough and congrestion…..ugh. Plus he developed bilateral conjunctivitis (pink eye) and is having pain in a tooth. Doctor AND dentist yesterday. The tooth was better, now it isn’t. Sore throat persists. I’m running out of home remedies. Throat culture was negative, which is good. Anyway, I’ve been off of here, tending to him.

    I am disappointed in Paul Ryan. Like the Obama administration on Iran the R’s gave up the biggest tool they had in the sequester for nothing in return, IMO. But it’s all bipartisan heaven in DC right before the long holiday break and Boehner is publically scolding conservatives so all is right with their world Feh.

    I’m off to brew a quart of tea with honey and lemon. Have a good day everybody

    • Prairie says:

      I meant to add that the band is to perform on Saturday……hope Mr. Prairie can make it and I hope I stay well.

    • tillacum says:

      Sorry to hear Mr. Prairie is under the weather. Hopefully he’ll be better in a couple of days. Stay well yourself.
      It is cool in central Texas. This week end we’ll be attending our friend’s grand daughter’s graduation from TX A&M. So far grandparents, sons & daughters, in-laws, now the grand children are graduating from TX A&M. The graduation party begins Saturday at 1100 and ends somewhere around 2030, it’s come and go. WOW.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Mr. Prairie is lucky to have you as his nurse! Get well wishes to him, and you…you stay well.

  7. lysie says:

    How about the little boy who kissed a girl on the cheek and ends up with a suspension? Libs want to teach sex education in the lower school grades (kindergarten??). I’m so very confused with all the mixed signals. Idiots!

    • Prairie says:

      The poor little guy. It used to be that if a little girl wanted a little boy to stop paying her attention, she would go to the teacher and it would be taken care of perhaps with a phone call to the boy’s parents. Now, it’s national news and a label attached to his file.

    • edinva says:

      lysie, I saw a news update on that boy…the ‘sexual harassment’ on his record was replaced with ‘misconduct’ or some such. Where do they get the people who run schools today? It’s really sick. Maybe projecting?

    • tillacum says:

      Not only did the little boy KISS a girl on the cheek, but this is his second offense so it will go into his permanent record….our education system is grinding beyond the cellar floor.
      Then a 10 year old was suspended from school for pretending to shoot with a bow and arrow. There was neither a bow nor a arrow, just pretend. Now I know why my sister left the education field.

  8. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  9. tillacum says:

    Brothers are like that lysie. I know. I’ve got 3.

  10. tillacum says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MOLLY! May you have many, many more.
    lysie, how is your elbow? Black ice is treacherous. Please be VERY careful.

    • lysie says:

      Hi, till. The elbow is a little tender, but improving each day. Thanks.

      The truth is I never expected my brother’s driveway to be like that since other cars were there and he is careful about clearing and salting the driveway.

      Personally, I think it was payback for the time I knocked his head when he was drinking from a water fountain causing a small chip on his front tooth. 🙂

      I can’t believe he remembered after ALL these years. Ha!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks till. I want to move my b.d. to June. Whaa……….

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Question of the day: How many layers does it take to keep me warm? so far…4, each one getting heavier and heavier…think I should turn up the heat??

    • Jemian says:

      Happy Birthday, Molly! Blessings to you each and every day.

  11. Molly Pitcher says:

    Uh oh…Eleanor Clift likes the Ryan/Murray budget deal….And we’re supposed to accept it??!!

  12. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That is sure a cute breakfast…

      We went to a party last night…a yearly affair at an old historical mansion in the city. The crowd seemed a little smaller than past years, but I wasn’t there for the whole 3 hours…

  13. lysie says:

    Yes, ed. It is!
    Happy Birthday, dear friend, Molly.

  14. The Raven says:

    So how this for a prediction?

    The Dems blame the OCare fiasco on Republicans and create a platform with numero uno policy is single payer health care in time for 2016 to fix it.

    • The Raven says:

      Aha…no sooner …….and wa-lah!!

      This isn’t happening by accident–Republicans have been spending huge amounts of money running despicable ads to convince young people they’d be better off uninsured. – Moveon.org propaganda on why OCare isn’t signing up the young.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I’d like to see one of those ads MoveOn is talking about….news to me…All I hear about are the ads the administration is using to brainwash the younger set….

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Clueless and classless…

    • lysie says:

      Whoa! That LOOK!! Yikes!

      What a bunch of “Hey, look at us…me” juveniles.

    • Jemian says:

      Do people not know how to behave at a funeral anymore? A person, made in the image of God, has passed from this earth. Surely, there is something about any person which could be mourned. Perhaps the only thing is that now they are beyond redemption, and that is truly the most tragic thing.

    • lysie says:

      Jem. I was thinking the other day as I was reading some obits about the mourning process. Many obits have “celebration of life”. I mourn my mom’s death. I know she is in a better place so in that respect I celebrate and remember all the lessons she taught me. It’s done privately, though.

      Not sure I’m explaining it correctly, though.

    • Jemian says:

      No, lysie, your sentiments are my sentiments. It is almost as if we’re not allowed or supposed to be sad at a person’s death. Yes, it is true that, in the case of a Christian, they are in a better place. But those of us who still remain are suffering a loss. We should be able to acknowledge and face our grief. Celebrate the life at a wake, at a party, in conversations later, but there is a time for mourning and a time for dancing. A funeral is a time to recognize the reality of death.

      Did I ever mention a totally classless person brought balloons to my mother’s funeral? It was amazing how fast those things deflated afterwards.

  15. lysie says:

    Best post regarding the income inequality article.

    By vb
    Income is measurable. Quality of life is not. Obviously a certain minimum of money is needed to assure that you have a warm and dry place to live and some kind of food to eat, but beyond that the way you live depends on how you use what you have and how you recognize what you don’t need to be happy. Ben Carson’s mother taught her kids to use the library to enrich their lives. A rural family might teach their kids how to raise a few chickens, plant potatoes and tomatoes and can foods for winter. The urban kids may not have more food security, but the rural ones may have to struggle to find books. Both sets have the potential to have strong families and communities.
    Isn’t it strange that right after Thanksgiving, the president starts telling people that they have little to be thankful for because someone else has a bigger house and cooler tablet.

  16. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That looks bright and delicious…

      I just don’t know if the Rs understand we are in a race with 0care against the arrival of the entrenched “goodies”….the subsidies..0 still has tricks and options to use, and he has no compunctions about flouting the law, OR using it, to keep this thing in place.

      Well, it’s a sad thing that in the Advent season, this is the idea I wake up with….

    • lysie says:

      Infuriating that the Rs don’t get it.

      Did you see that Representative Steve Stockman filed to challenge Republican senator John Cornyn of Texas?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      What mischief are you getting into today? Hmmmm?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That is news to me…well, Stockman has to be prepared to bear the full brunt of the establishment Rs…Good luck to him

    • edinva says:

      Molly, that little birdie emerged again from his frosty tree to remind me that tomorrow is a big day for you. I’ll be accompanying dh to med appts,so want now to wish you a Happy Birthday. I hope and expect that lysie will whip up a gorgeous cake to celebrate. Enjoy your day!

  17. lysie says:

    It is getting to the point where I can’t stand any news station. MSNBC is never on our TV. CNN sometimes I watch because it may be on in waiting rooms or restaurants. Fox viewing in our household is less since they added so much fluff to F&F. Still like Cavuto, though.

  18. lysie says:

    Yes. Thanks. It takes a little time getting used to the cold. We have about one inch of new stuff on the deck. I haven’t checked the forecast yet this morning.

    You , all , be careful when you go out.

    Thanksgiving evening we went to my brother’s house. As I was getting out of the truck, I fell … feet up…on my right side. I hit hard. My left side felt like an accordion crashing down on me. I’m fine. The only thing that hurts a little is my right elbow.

    My brother’s driveway is wide and we parked where he hadn’t spread salt. It was black ice where we parked.

    I’m so very lucky I didn’t hit my head or injure my bones.

    Be careful everyone. Blacktop can be very deceiving!!!!

  19. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

Leave a Reply

