America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- January 27,2014 – January 31, 2014 Remember 9/11

Hello!

We are so lucky, fortunate indeed! President Obama is giving another State of the Union Speech this week…Tuesday it is!

AND it’s likely he’ll be talking about income inequality, immigration reform…those important topics these days…

You see…we aren’t all poor enough equally….and immigration reform? The Dem party needs more voters.

And climate change..once upon a time called “global warming”….that’s bound to be mentioned this cold, cold winter.

Certainly looking forward to it all…


How Walker and the conservatives saved Wisconsin…conservatives, not necessarily Rs…..

Big Gov. does too much, badly.. Wash. Ex.

To Replace 0Care.. Senate Rs come thru?

What the Pres should have said John Stossel

Mind numbing and soul killing Powerline

State of DisUnion Daniel Henninger…WSJ

The President’s Unilateral agenda CNS news…John Eastman

The growing distance…. Peggy Noonan

Constitution? What Constitution? Powerline

This entry was posted in Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

114 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- January 27,2014 – January 31, 2014 Remember 9/11

  1. Prairie says:

    Lysie asked:
    The question re: Israel ? Why do the American Jews vote dem? I just don’t get it.

    One answer is that they have become quite secularized with little knowledge of the Scriptures. Judaism has little to no place in many of their lives, or in some cases there is so much legalism that they have lost anything of God’s true Words to them. Any concept of being God’s chosen people has been either forgotten or they don’t believe it. Worldliness has taken hold of many.

    Hundreds of career prosecutors revolt against Eric Holder

    Republican bigwigs prepare to sign death warrant of conservatism Conservatism may be on it’s last legs…..

    • lysie says:

      Thanks, Prairie.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      This immigration proposal has got me down….like watching the Titanic head for the iceberg.

      The other thought along this and other issues is that the rulers in Washington have it out for us. It seems like a cold hard fact.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Well, I posted the above comment, then found Noonan’s column which I linked above

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I came back from errands, checked my emails, and found one from the NRCC…wanting money of course, so I just looked them up, found the office # in DC, and gave them a little call….calmly, calmly, bur forcefully told them that their plans for immigration “reform” would be a disaster.

      1 or 2 calls a day…I guess that will be my plan.

    • edinva says:

      Good for you, Molly! That “calm’ thing seems to elude me lately. The R’s aren’t as bad as the D’s but their weakness ends in the same result.

    • edinva says:

      Prairie: as a matter of fact, the last religious, believing Jews, the Orthodox, do tend to vote overwhelmingly R, while the secular Reformed Jews are all but another branch of the DNC.

      I love the idea of Sandra Fluke running for Waxman’s seat. Totally appropriate. Knew whoever his successor would be was going to be just the same as him ideologically. Congressional Districts are designed to match the incumbent. Do you remember Sandra campaigning for Obama and the crowds of a dozen she would attract?

    • Prairie says:

      I would have suspected it to be that way EDinVA. While I was on FB I had for a time an uber-liberal Jew as a “friend”. At one point he howled to blue blazes when I suggested that our nation was in need of a spiritual revival. Note: I did NOT say a Christian revival, I said a spiritual revival. He seemed truly clueless that a Jew could have a revival or rededication of their faith. In fact, as the conversation continued and I pulled out some OT scripture to support my case, he accused me of posting out of the NT. Apparently this 50 year old man has no idea that Psalms and whatever else I had quoted was in the OT. If he couldn’t place them in the correct locations in the bible, it stands to reason that he had no concept whatsoever about what they said. I eventually ended up de-friending him. Best thing I ever did on that website except from getting off of it entirely.

  2. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  3. The Raven says:

    Morning quote:

    Rep. Henry Waxman (D-Calif.) announced Thursday that he won’t seek reelection to Congress this November.

  4. lysie says:

    FYI

    D’Souza vs. Ayers at Dartmouth

    Thu Jan 30, 2014 7:30pm EST — Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:00pm EST

    http://new.livestream.com/abbson/dsouza-ayers-dartmouth

    • edinva says:

      Thanks, lysie. That should be a fascinating debate. Will the activist students allow D’Souza to speak? I’m inclined to watch, but it might make me physically ill.

      Oops…. guess I didn’t hit “Post Comment.” SO I watched/listened to the debate. Ayers is a lot smoother than D’Souza. Really good at pivoting and 30-40 years on campus have honed that skill. Questioners represented the GBLT and atheist groups on campus, and any number of victims of the Big Bad USA . The debatet was sponsored by YAF but I didn’t hear a lot of conservative students come forward. Overall it was more civil than might have been expected. Still, watching/listening to Ayers,I DO feel nauseous,

    • lysie says:

      Ayers, if I closed my eyes or read the transcript, I would think it was o. No feeling. No soul. Scripted. The only thing missing was the teleprompter. That was replaced with paper.

      Dinesh did well. Sincere…from his experiences and from his heart.

    • lysie says:

      Yes. Ayers made me ill, too.

    • lysie says:

      The question re: Israel ? Why do the American Jews vote dem? I just don’t get it.

    • lysie says:

      Oh and according to Ayers prisoners should have the right to vote.

    • edinva says:

      Of COURSE Ayers wants prisoners to be allowed to vote. They’d be an even more reliable Dem voting bloc than African-Americans.

    • lysie says:

      Yes. I agree with that, ed. Dangle the carrot.

    • edinva says:

      Over the past few weeks I’ve been contemplating Conservatives’ and Republicans’ total failure to recruit young people. They’ve abandoned college campuses. I stopped going to my county’s GOP Committee meetings @ 10 years ago. I looked around the room and the youngest folks there were the same youngest folks in the room when I joined 20 years before. What are they doing?

  5. lysie says:

    Race really never enters my mind until someone accuses me. Does that mean they have racism nervosa?

  6. lysie says:

    Greg emailed our accountant (Dave) re: Myra. His return response on our answer machine was hilarious.

    It’s refreshing to know others think the way we do.

  7. lysie says:

    Thanks for the links, Molly. I have to take breaks in between each one because there are times when reading about o and his agenda honestly make my shoulders ache. I tense up.

    Must relax. I must.

  8. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  9. Prairie says:

    Move Over, IRA — MyRA’s the New Kid in Town

    Encouraging savings is a positive step, but I’m not sure this will achieve a great deal of additional retirement security. It makes me wonder whether the birth of MyRA may also be an admission of what some of us already believe: that social security is not as secure as some in the government have proclaimed, and that the writing is on the wall that benefit cuts and increasing the retirement age will have to occur at some point in the future.

    Oh yes, indeedy. Good evening all.

  10. lysie says:

    How nice of Chick-fil-A for giving free food to motorists stranded in Southern snowstorm.

    • tillacum says:

      Isn’t that a shame? I thought Canadians were better people than the likes of stalin and hitler. Have you noticed when I use the lower case for Obama the O suddenly pops making the nuff nuff’s look right, when he’s Left.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That parallels the Steyn and Conrad Black case, I guess. Their libel laws are terrible, and need reforming badly

    • edinva says:

      Good morning,Lysie,all

      Canada has gone beyond the pale with its ‘hate crimes.’ Ask Mark Steyn. At its current rate, the USA will be there in 5 years. Just one more national election going left is all they need. And, with their proposed immigration/amnesty plans, the GOP is handing it to them, probably forever.

      Having “missed” the SOTU, together with nearly 90 of all Americans (lowest viewership ever, I understand) I am blissfully out of what’s happening politically, tho I DID read that S*r*s’s man, P*desta, has bumped Pl*uffe out of the WH and ‘demoted’ Valerie J. Next 3 years ain’t gonna be pretty.

      On the bright side…we will get up into the 30s today!

  11. Molly Pitcher says:

    I’m wondering about those poor people on the highways around Atlanta….were they there all night?

    Why so many left home yesterday a.m. considering the weather report is beyond me.

  12. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  13. Prairie says:

    An eerie message from Iran…….Not good.

    Hello everybody. I have carefully avoided any channel that would have even the remotest possibility of airing one word of Odinko’s speech. Mr. Prairie and I spent a minute or so predicting what he was going to say, so no need to watch, especially in view of one’s blood pressure reading.

    Freeze warnings here tonight. Funnily, nobody from up north is sympathetic. 🙂

  14. The Raven says:

    There’s two things that happened when you get older. One is you start forgetting more things. And the other one is…..[help me out here……] hmmmm …. ???

  15. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Jemian says:

      Great breakfast! I love sausage. AND, I have found a recipe for making the sausage myself. I sent hubby down to the pasar, open-air market, and had him buy 1 kilo of a pig. After I removed the skin, I ground the rest up and added the seasonings. The hardest part was the grinding. My grinder bogs down at the slightest whisper of grisle. But, yum, it is good tasting sausage. Could use more sage though.

    • lysie says:

      I’m going to try that. I’ve made Italian sausage not breakfast sausage. Yum!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      And I love biscuits….Yummy!

      prairie…I didn’t have the problem you did, but I deleted that Wash Times link..

      Raven check under one of your posts….do you have an “edit” function? It’s a fairly small item, so look carefully…(.not commenting on your eyes, just going by my own issues!)

    • lysie says:

      Rav, do you see the edit next to your name/posts? Like this:

      The Raven says:
      Tuesday, January 28, 2014 at 5:29 am EST (Edit)

      By clicking edit you should be able to do that. Then, to the right there is an blue update button.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Ok.

      It would be good if you had this ability…

      lysie and I will look into it, ok? All right with you lysie?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      The next step up from your already -high post is “administrator”..you are presently an “Author”…..Not sure if you want to move up a step, if we can effect a change, AND if you would be trustworthy…..Just KIDDING!! Of course you would be….thing is Bit set this up with the administration and parts of that process are unknown to me

      Ok, I see there is an option for “editor”, and that is now what you are….hopefully.

      This may simply mean that you can edit your own posts….not anyone else’s.

      See what you think….

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      lysie……Raven Got my attention, and I had a few min. to handle it ,so he is now upgraded…..

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      In honor of your soon to be retired status!!

    • lysie says:

      Woohoo! A promotion. 😉

      Thanks, Molly.

    • The Raven says:

      yes—now I see it.

      hmm…maybe a quote……let’s see

    • The Raven says:

      Quote III

      … I’m not sure I could name a single area President Obama has been successful in–economic growth and job creation, dealing with long-term unemployment and the number of people leaving the labor market, health-care reform, the stimulus, our fiscal balance, reducing poverty and income inequality, outreach to the Arab and Islamic world, impeding Iran’s quest for nuclear weapons, solving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the Russian “reset,” America’s pivot to Asia and our relations with China, relations with our allies, transparency, reducing the influence of lobbyists and special-interest groups, decreasing political polarization and partisan divisions, and more. President Obama has been, by my lights, an across-the-board failure.

      -Peter Wehner quoted on Powerline

  16. The Raven says:

    Morning quote:

    The point regarding the Bernanke-Yellen legacy is that the true test of any monetary cycle is not how it begins, but how it ends.

    -WSJ ed.

    • The Raven says:

      Morning Quote II,

      The year was 2081, and everybody was finally equal. They weren’t only equal before God and the law. They were equal every which way. Nobody was smarter than anybody else. Nobody was better looking than anybody else. Nobody was stronger or quicker than anybody else. All this equality was due to the 211th, 212th, and 213th Amendments to the Constitution, and to the unceasing vigilance of agents of the United States Handicapper General.

      —From ” Harrison Bergeron ” (1961), a short story by Kurt Vonnegut – and quoted in a B Stevans WSJ column

    • lysie says:

      Gee. I guess my ancestors were wrong. I was taught that , yes , others may have more than I, but that I can better myself by hard work and perseverance.

      The thought that people are no better looking than others freaks me out. What standard will be used? LOL

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I think pols like 0 and Cuomo, who promote the “Equality” agenda should get Zapped! when they appear before their wealthy, very wealthy, donors asking for money…if you get my meaning….

  17. Prairie says:

    Molly when I clicked on the CURL link, I got a virus alert that seemed to be a fake. IOW, I think it was the alert that might’ve been corrupted, but it popped up when I opened the CURL link. You might want to scrub it……

    Good evening everybody. My m-I-l is doing better, still doing rehab and making progress. I am still basically news-free except when I make an effort toward it. Since I already know how Obama is going to operate, I can pretty much predict what is going to happen. Speaking of rehab, Hillary’s rehabilitation of her failures in Benghazi has officially begun

    (Extreme restraint being applied,,,,,!)

  18. lysie says:

    Molly, can Rav and others edit their own posts? I’m not sure.

    Looks like you have many closures in your area. Stay safe and warm.

  19. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks lysie!

      Don’t blow away, Jemian

      Raven and ED….a few words of his…is all I can take…it’s hard enough just reading about what he’s said. Very painful, but I try, really, I try

    • Jemian says:

      The winds are continuing. The type of water heater for sale here is a gas, hot-on-on-demand heater. But, the workers mounted it on the outside. This dang wind keeps blowing the stupid flame out. It won’t stay lit! I haven’t had a hot bath for four days. Cold water is hard to tolerate.

  20. The Raven says:

    Edinva – I have not listened to any of his speeches either. Matter of fact, I turn the volume down on the radio when I hear even short clips of his voice. Even if it is Rush or Mark! Hopefully the Republican response will dwell on the new anti Tea Party criminal activity by Obama, Schumer, et al.

    [getting up on soap box] Now….if it was my SOUA, I would ask who is going to clean up the mess Obama made? For the first time in a long time, we have hate. Not the racial hate but hate of the rich. Hate of the Republicans [eg see Hannity, Koch, Cruz, . I beginning to get worried because the government not only sponsors the hate but . Others are, too

    We also have the awful economic conditions and a President who borrows from someone else’s future to pay the price of limping along instead of recovering. Who even knows how to clean up that mess?

    But if I were running—that would be my platform. Get rid of the tyranny. Return the republic.

    • The Raven says:

      Somehow I deleted a chunk of the above. Oh well. Think you get the point?

    • lysie says:

      Yes! He’s turned this country in to a bunch of hateful whiners.

    • edinva says:

      Raven, you’ve got my vote! Not only hate, but state-condoned, state-sponsored, state-funded hate, AND in every direction. From Cuomo/DeBlasio/Schumer in NY, to McAuliffe/Herring in VA, to DOJ pursuing Dinesh D’Souza and VA’s ex-Gov McDonnell and his wife Plenty of hate to go around. They totally hate the rich but ONLY if they are rich in combination with Republican or Conservative leanings (see Mellon or Koch). Soros’s/Lewis’s/Gates’s billions are good wealth. Just to make this year’s SOTU special, sitting beside Michelle will be the HERO of the NBA… an openly gay player! What a convoluted world we live in.

      Lysie, hub did fine @ER. Only needs one of those compression boots, not even pain killers, Just ice and keep it elevated. He’s VERY lucky.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Glad it’s no worse, ED

    • tillacum says:

      This administration is following Alinsky to the “T”. Home in, slander, keep it up, until people believe it. Democrats have been on “Hate the Rich” from the time I was a child. But the division of public hate” between national political parties and ethnic groups are new on a national scale and encouraged in all of the media. The “hate” toward Christian values, and gatherings, That sort of “hate” bothers me.

  21. edinva says:

    I will be proudly boycotting my 5th or 6th straight SOTU. Why do we need to up our blood pressure? I can’t stand to watch or hear that guy. I heard Sean Hannity will be there as a guest of Louis Goehmert? I

    Yesterday as we headed out on our walk, DH went slip slidin’ away, up in the air, then straight down on his back. Being a male of the species, he declined help and insisted he’d be good after just resting for a while. Sure. So off to the ER today for leg/ankle scans. Just bruising and twisted ankle so he’s wearing a compression boot vs cast/crutches. That ‘black ice’ is some treacherous stuff. So that was our fun for the weekend!

    • lysie says:

      Oh dear! I pray the ER visit will show nothing serious.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Uh oh….sometimes our husbands can be so stubborn about certain things…..ahem….

    • tillacum says:

      I hope Sean Hannity takes along a “burp bag” or a clamp for his mouth. I cannot image anyone sitting through one of his “gentle’ state tirades” without shouting something of getting up and leaving. Hubby listens to what he say, then tells me it’s the same ole, same ole. I cannot stand the sound of his voice. If I happen to walk into a room and he’s on, I’ll mute it or change the stations….sometimes, there’s a “turn that tv back on”…heck I didn’t see him sitting there. He’s of the opinion, one listens to what the enemy says and watches closely to what it’s doing.

    • Jemian says:

      How is your DH today? Feeling better I hope.

Leave a Reply

