America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- March 3, 2014 – March 7, 2014 Remember 9/11

Hello!

In news you might have missed:

0bama missed Saturday’s meeting of his National Security Team….remember the Ukraine?

Cong. Issa announced on Fox today that Lois Lerner has agreed to testify before his oversight committee…is she looking to protect herself, at last?

Beware the Bear NRO

0 Mocks GOP on 0Care CNS News

The Collapse of the Black American Family The Guardian

All Talk , no Do Am. spec.

Putin vs. 0bama John Kass

Israel and the rest of the World

The Carterization of 0bama is total Daniel Henninger

The Politics of House of Cards For anyone who watches it….

Do most Americans agree with the Dems on the Issues?

Was Harold Ramis a R/Conservative?

This entry was posted in Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

102 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- March 3, 2014 – March 7, 2014 Remember 9/11

  1. The Raven says:

    Milton Friedman vs. a very young Michael Moore (before he was rich)

  2. lysie says:

    We are going to a charity bowling tournament. Hopefully will be back in time for more TGIF!!

  3. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  4. The Raven says:

    Wow, wow, wow. I’ve been secretly plotting my TV show I would write when I win the lottery. And there it is. House of Cards !!! I must see if I can get Netflix now. (we have satellite internet)

    • lysie says:

      Interesting , Molly and Rav. Thanks.

    • edinva says:

      House of Cards is really very well done. Watched season 1 last year, but found I could watch only 1episode at a time, then needed a break, like brain bleach. It’s dark and heavy, and a little too close to what people are really like in the DC political sphere. There aren’t any real relationships, just what each can do for the other. They all just use each other. There’s no trust, no loyalty. Kinda makes my skin crawl.

      But it IS a good, really good, show from a casting/production perspective. I just marvel that they’ve cast the bad guy as a D and the bad gal as a non profit “do gooder.” Now, to build up the inner fortitude to catch season 2. (We’re now watching the final season of CSI-NY, having watched straight thru from Season 1, Ep. 1. It’s actually easier to watch the murders and autopsies than the “personal relationships” on HoC)

      Having had a govt snow day and 2 days of school closings early this week, together with record breaking cold, we will have 60 degrees tomorrow. It’s funny and weird, but so dangerous for those suffering respiratory ailments.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I sure miss CSI NY. I came to it late .. Watched whole seasons in several big chunks. Then the last 2 seasons as they broadcast the first time.

  5. Prairie says:

    I just got back from attending some friend’s presentation of their trip to China. Interesting but I don’t believe I’d ever personally shell out the money to go. If someone were to pay for the trip, I wouldn’t refuse but I have no huge desire to tour communist countries. Still, the pictures and narrative were fun and those of the Terracotta Army was my favorite part.

    AlJazeera America worse than tanking

    Good.

    • edinva says:

      Recently Al Jazeera hired some big name American to help their ratings (wish I could remember WHO). Somehow I just don’t see a significant % of Americans wanting any connection to AJ. Same audience as Air America, I’d bet.

    • The Raven says:

      I’ve been to China, Prairie. My former company had an office there (little disconcerting that there is a soldier at the elevator and reception area). The tourism was limited to in and around Beijing (Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Great Wall) and some really outstanding restaurants although we ventured deep into the interior on business. Beijing is in a zone where capitalism is encouraged to some extent and is flourishing (but pollution is unbelievable). Where I went in the interior had a town without indoor plumbing. They have a ditch and residents throw their daily duties into the ditch with a bucket (you can imagine the odor).

  6. The Raven says:

    Okay, this is for those of you who do not drink coca cola in the morning and enjoy a good cup of coffee……there is a new invention in coffee makers. It is similar to the French press method in technique but not quite. It’s called iCoffee and made by Remington. Consumer reports had it far and away the best tasting coffee and the people writing in are giving it 5 stars and saying it is the best they ever had —- Anyway…I think we’ll give it a try (I like European coffee).

  7. lysie says:

    CPAC streaming

    Mike Lee, “it’s time for the Republican party to stop talking about Ronald Reagan and start acting like him.”

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hear, hear!

      Now it’s Heartland time…where are you in the series?….I’m in Season 5…You know the character who’s growing on me? It’s Caleb. He’s endearing in a boyish way, and so mature in other ways. Pretty amazing character, imo.

      Then there’s Tim….whole ‘nother story, as they say…

    • lysie says:

      I think I have watched all the past episodes. New season has started or will start. I need to ask Sarah.

      Even so, I don’t mind watching them again.

  8. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Well, that is just about perfect…..did I tell you that I had grits and shrimp for lunch a couple of weeks ago? Plus, greens, and….oh never mind…..

    • lysie says:

      I bet with that lunch you remembered our dear Toby.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I did, yes!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      There seems to be some strange local story about a man who claims to be Michael Jackson’s son….Do we need any more weirdness in the news???

      Limbaugh was talking about the Cadillac commercial. I just love it, having seen it several times during the Olympics….for one thing I like Neal McDonough a lot…remembering him in Band of Brothers, and then there is the sly wink at the end. Each time I’ve seen it, it’s like unwrapping a box of chocolates, it’s so appealing.

      On a different note, I spent a good portion of the a.m. working on a significant project using Word…I’m trying to put it into a format in order to produce a CD, I think…it’s all very frustrating….so close to wrapping it up, but each time I am so close there is some “issue.”

      These days it seems harder to manage such frustration…not sure why, but there it is. Why oh why, can’t I live in some nice, pleasant cocoon…at my age….humph!
      There’s no such place, is there?? Instead I have to work a little more effectively at managing the stress…..that seems to be the answer.

      So this morning, I shut the program down, got my grocery list and left for the grocery store. That was my decompression zone! Well, the sunshine, and hints of spring helped. Tomorrow I will start again, and try, try not to think about it at 2 a.m. ….

  9. The Raven says:

    Morning quote:

    … the simple fact is that there was a right side and a wrong side to that conflict, and we were on the right side of it. The Soviet Union murdered millions of its own people, stifled freedom in nearly every form, enslaved whole nations and actively tried to undermine democracy all around the world, including in the U.S.

    -J Goldberg on the Cold War

  10. Molly Pitcher says:

    HA!. Great news……

  11. lysie says:

    Fed. taxes done. 🙂 NYS…ack!!! I don’t like the mandatory state sales tax on income.

  12. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  13. Prairie says:

    A piece of good news (for once)……the German family has been granted “indefinite deferred status” and won’t be deported unless they commit some crime.

    LINK

  14. lysie says:

    I’m not sure I told all of you about the Super Bowl Sunday night murder that happened on a road north of us. It is about 1 mile from our house.
    They caught the people. Three teens going after pot.

    What did Baldwinsville murder suspects take from home of Granby victim?

    This a kind of thing is increasing all over the country. Parents!!! Know where your kids are you idiots.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Yes…this story is beginning to sound all too familiar….one here occurred New Year’s Eve

    • edinva says:

      Lysie; that story is chilling, the teens are incredibly stupid and callous. Kinda hard for Daddy Carr to check on Jr.since Daddy’s already in the slammer for murder….but Mommy Carr assures that her dear son would never harm anyone. And, after all, the vic walked into the knife, what’s a perp to do??? Please tell me how we got here !?!?!!?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I think Raven should report in, don’t you think? He may be lost in the grocery store….or asleep on the couch….or…who knows??!

    • lysie says:

      I know ladies. So very upsetting. I would NOT trade my youth for anything. I am blessed.

      Molly, LOL about Rav. Maybe he saw one of these on the refrigerator door this morning.

    • Prairie says:

      Celi and maybe Carr don’t look very happy. Scott looks pretty hardened…

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Well??

    • The Raven says:

      So what was I doing?
      We are baby-sitting my MIL until next week and I told them at work if, after a couple of days at home full time, they might see be banging on the front glass to come back.
      Patience, Raven !!!
      In any event, I shouldn’t go to Costco or Sam’s…they both had those “little green egg” charcoal “grills” and although I passed up at Sam’s I didn’t have the fortitude to do it twice. So I was assembling it when you guys were picking on me. We initially went to Sams to check out those two story cedar playhouses for the grandkids – but they need a fairly big level base with sand or shredded tires…..not sure where to put it and if we want to do the expense of a bobcat, sand, etc. But we’ll check that out today. Then back to Sams and Costco to look at and not buy the one man pontoon boat, the backyard bench, the aluminum car port, etc, etc.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      LOL! ok, ok, we get the picture, don’t you think lysie.

      Raven you haven’t skipped a beat…you have moved into full “retirement” mode….busier than you were when working.

      My husband spent all yesterday morning at the dealership concerning some recall notice. When he finally returned home just in time for lunch…a late lunch…he said “whew, it’s a good thing I’m retired!” So there you have it…

  15. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  16. The Raven says:

    Well, something fishy is going on. I presume somebody told Lois Lerner what her decision should be.

  17. Prairie says:

    There Will Be Blood, Our Own

    On Obama’s slashing of our military size. Actions (and elections) have consequences.

    Good night all.

  18. Prairie says:

    I’m certain that we all recall this about Ronald Reagan.

    Right??

    • lysie says:

      LOL They will say the tweet meant when President Reagan addressed Congress members during a State of the Union. He was in Congress at that moment. ***wink , wink***

    • edinva says:

      my internet went down and lost my comments. In summary
      1) Reagan’s time “in Congress” is hilarious It’s one thing to have incompetents in the political sphere/DNC, (after all, the GOP is FULL of them) but quite another to have them filling strategic foreign policy positions, i.e,DoD/State.
      2. We’re making slow/sporadic progress after the latest s***. Public school remain closed, G. Mason U in Fairfax opens at noon,VA Commonwealth in Richmond at 11a, the fed court in DC at 10 while the fed courts in MD opened on time

    • lysie says:

      Wow,ed. Stay safe and warm.

  19. Prairie says:

    Molly if the republicans were savvy, they would make a political ad with sound bytes of Obama snarking about the “50th time is a charm” and assertively point out the American public that yes….the republicans have tried over and over and will KEEP trying to overturn it because it’s such a bad law etc etc.

    Not that I expect the GOP to capitalize on it however. It’s sounding very serious with this deadline coming up for Ukraine. I’m off to read some links.

  20. Molly Pitcher says:

    we’re winning very funny…via NRO…..

  21. edinva says:

    Happy belated birthday, Rav

    I had cataract surgery. Due to severe astigmatism and myopia, apparently, I wasn’t a good candidate for lasik. So as soon as those lil suckers came close to ripening, I went for it. You might check with your ophthalmologist to see if you’re ready for cataract surgery. Same end result but different procedure to get there. Friends who have had lasik insist it’s the best thing they’ve ever done. I feel the same way about this, but your doc can describe the differences and discuss which, if either, would be best for you. I am still giggling to myself frequently about what a profound change this is.

    All of the DC Metro area is shut down today. NY and Ohio laugh! Metro trains are running but not buses, so what are folks who still have to work but don’t live near the Metro to do? Trudge several miles thru the snow? That works for the young and/or professionals who have SUVs, but I’m thinking of (say) a 50 year old woman who works in the hospital kitchen, making min. wage. And while the rest of us wait it out, the Honor Guard is still outdoors marching and watching over the Tomb(s) of the Unknown Soldiers.

  22. tillacum says:

    Rave, Happy belated Birthday greetings.
    Molly, take care and don’t go outside. It sounds like you folks in the NE are in for another snow
    storm
    lysie, which breakfast to try…I’d have trouble deciding, they both look sooo good.
    Yesterday we had an ice storm. My truck was completely encased in ice on the driver’s side and a bit on the passenger side. The temps last night were 19 degrees and this a.m. at 1000 it was 23. I think it’s warming up, but the golf greens are still icy and so is my truck. I understand
    Dallas received quite a bit of snow plus the ice storm.
    Well, I see our sniveling leader “will not attend”, “will attend”, “will not attend” the G8 meeting. Then I’ve seen there may not be a G8 meeting in Sochi because everyone has back out. Just
    what did nobama talk to Putin about during their 90 telephone conversation?
    I saw the oil and gas lines from Russia through the Ukraine into the European countries. There were a lot of them. Now how many of those gas lines will be turned off, if they don’t go along with
    Putin? He may be thinking like Hitler and expand Russia’s lands. (?)

  23. lysie says:

    Feel better, Molly.

  24. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    Thanks for the start, Molly.

  25. edinva says:

    Don’t get so fussy, Molly. He may have missed his National Security Council meeting, but he did make Sasha’s dance recital. Man’s gotta have his priorities. The whole Ukraine situation is a) beyond my understanding; and, b) scary as he!! because we have such a quisling in the Oval Office. God help us all.

    In other news, all local public school districts, universities, and the fed court in MD have already announced they’re closed Monday due to anticipated ice/snow/wintry mix. Feels like it’s never going to end and we have nada compared to you, Molly and lysie. BTW, did you see Syracuse U came in #1 for ‘snowiest’ college in the USA?

    Did I mention I had the 2nd eye operated on last Monday? All went beautifully and I am in total awe of what it’s done. Doc was thrilled, said “this is what makes it all worthwhile,” meaning having someone (to wit, me) who’s been all but blind her entire life seeing @ nearly 20/20 without eyeglasses or contact lenses, Now I have 1.50 diopter reading glasses. Too exciting and miraculous for words.

    • The Raven says:

      Good to hear of your successful eye surgery. Lasik? I was all signed up and ready to go for that procedure until they showed a video detailing the side effects…..and the one that got me was you can choose near of far sightedness but not both…..so I’d still need glasses to read my watch. — I cancelled but I keep thinking about i

    • lysie says:

      Congratulation on your eye surgery and the new you, ed.

      Syracuse#1 for snow? How about that. The last few games of basketball knocked them out of the #1 spot…rightfully so. Pitiful games.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Great news ED Aren’t you glad you have that behind you now?

      Raven I hope your birthday went well yesterday! Again, Happy Birthday blessings to you!

      And lysie Thanks for the delicious breakfast…I am still not feeling so great…venturing out? No way….

    • tillacum says:

      What wonderful news. Medicine is marvelous. So happy for you.

Leave a Reply

