America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- June 16, 2014 – June 20, 2014 Remember 9/11

Hello!

Political snippets for the week ahead….

Hillary, despite her stumbling book tour & the coy remarks made on her behalf, is probably running for Presidency.

Eric Cantor….how does head of the RNC sound for him? That’s being talked about.

The race for the House Majority Leader may not be totally signed, sealed and delivered to Cong. McCarthy.

And what’s this with Romney’s reappearance? Please, please tell me he’s only going after the Party’s “elder statesman” role.

Overseas, the U.S. is beginning to evacuate its Bahgdad embassy, as the ISIL army gathers on the city’s outskirts and Shi’ite militia organize within the city.

War was interested in 0bama Victor Davis Hanson

The Real Privilege on Campus The Federalist

is “Hard choices” a bomb?

The Pace of 0s disasters Bret Stephens

Surge in child illegals reaches NY That wasn’t quite the headline but I fixed it

Hillary Clinton is an Anachronism Yep.

Iraq: what we know now and what we knew then Thank you Norman Podhoretz

Is Hillary imploding? Weekly standard

The Redskins ruling should terrify you RCP

ISIS bears down on former chemical weapons facility now just wait a gol darn minute….is this a former facility for WMD??? Hmmmmmm

This entry was posted in About, Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

94 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- June 16, 2014 – June 20, 2014 Remember 9/11

  1. The Raven says:

    UNBELIEVABLE

    The children at the borders is orchestrated. This is a take off of fast & furious thinking ……I bet the same person. I suppose it shows they aren’t 100% incompetent. They know how to play Chicago politics

  2. The Raven says:

    Friday quote (luv this one)

    Nobody believes you.

    -Paul Ryan to IRS Commissioner John Koskinen after a long dialog on why they lost Lois Lerner’s emails

    Which can also be used on these

    I just want to be absolutely clear, alright. So I don’t want any misunderstanding. When ya’ll go home and you’re talking to your buddies, and they say, “Ah, he wants to take my gun away,” you’ve heard it here — I’m on television so everybody knows it – I believe in the Second Amendment. I believe in people’s lawful right to bear arms. I will not take your shotgun away. I will not take your rifle away. I won’t take your handgun away. … So, there are some common-sense gun safety laws that I believe in. But I am not going to take your guns away. So if you want to find an excuse not to vote for me, don’t use that one. Cause that just ain’t true.
    -Obama, Sept. 9, 2008

    No matter how we reform healthcare, we will keep this promise…. if you like your healthcare plan, you will be able to keep your health care plan. Period. No one will take it away. No matter what.”
    -Obama 2009

    I was a constitutional law professor, which means unlike the current president I actually respect the Constitution.
    -B Obama

    “Raising the debt ceiling, which has been done over a hundred times, does not increase our debt
    -Obama, Sept 2013

    “I think it’s fair to say that during the course of my Presidency I have bent over backwards to work with the Republican Party, and have purposely kept my rhetoric down.
    -Obama in October, 2013

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That’s quite a list, but wait ~~there’s more (unfortunately)…..

    • The Raven says:

      Sounded like you were going to add to the list (video, red line, etc). But there’s “not even a smidgen” of more quotes

    • The Raven says:

      Here’s the full text from Ryan”

      Rep. Paul Ryan (R., Wis.) and IRS Commissioner John Koskinen at a Ways and Means Committee hearing, June 20:

      Ryan: I am sitting here listening to this testimony. . . . I don’t believe it. That’s your problem. Nobody believes you. The Internal Revenue Service comes to Congress a couple of years ago and misleads us and says no targeting is occurring.

      Then it said it was a few rogue agencies in Cincinnati. Then it said it was also on progressives. All those things have been proven untrue. This committee sent a criminal referral of possible criminal wrongdoing, just a month ago, to the Justice Department and we’ve heard nothing. You bury, in a 27-page letter to the Senate, asking for them to conclude the investigation, that you’ve lost Lois Lerner’s emails during the time in question because of a hard drive crash. . . . Monday our investigators asked your agency whether any other hard drives crashed and we learn that six other hard drives of the people we are investigating were involved. . . . you didn’t tell us that!

      Koskinen: We told you on Monday.

      . . .

      Ryan: You told us on Monday because we asked you whether any other hard drives crashed. This is unbelievable. You told us in May that you were going to give us all of Lois Lerner’s emails and you learned in February that this crashed.

      Koskinen: I did not learn in February of the crash and we told you on Monday.

      Ryan: I’m not asking a question, I’m making a statement.

      Koskinen: I’m sorry.

      Ryan: You are the IRS. . . . You learned about this months ago, you just told us, and we had to ask you on Monday. This is not being forthcoming. This is being misleading again. This is a pattern of abuse, a pattern of behavior, that is not giving us any confidence that this agency is being impartial. I don’t believe you.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      It was late, and I was tired….you know : 0bama Fatigue

  3. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Good morning!

      How is your asparagus doing?

    • tillacum says:

      Yes, how is your asparagus? I picked the last of the corn and will probably freeze some. I
      planted only 21 seeds and they all grew into corn stalks will great tasting corn. Next year, I’ll
      plant more. The squash and beans are ready to pick, the magic beans will be ready soon.
      Squash? My goodness, they sure ripen fast. Last year we lost just about all of the squash from
      an invasion of the squash bugs. So this year I spread dried molasses and the squash is
      ripening almost faster than we can pick it, same with peppers. Gardening is fun.
      Hello everyone.
      Has anyone heard from Jem? I had a facebook note that said she was not well and probably
      headed for the hospital, if she couldn’t control ?????.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Oh dear…thanks for that news about Jemian.

      Love your garden report til

    • lysie says:

      I think Jem is in the hospital, at least, she was a couple days ago. Maybe dengue fever.

      Our asparagus is doing well since transplanting. We had several pick-able stalks and now smaller ones to leave alone. Next year will be a good one. I believe.

      We gave several roots to George (Monday music lead singer). He said his are up, too. I was very happy to hear that.

      Till, nothing like having a good garden. Makes you smile..it does.

    • Jemian says:

      I have heard from Jem. She is still in the church militant, not yet in the church victorious. Two weeks ago I was working on the textbook I’m writing this summer. At noon I said to myself, “Self, you don’t feel well.”

      The previous day I had given blood. My feeling of unwellness turned into a kidney infection. Then, malaria. Then, dengue fever. Then, a hemoglobin count of 6.8. All that within 7 short days.

      About the only good thing is that my chronically high white cell count, thanks to cipro which I did NOT tolerate well AT ALL, is now finally normal. It had been around 17,000 for the last decade.

      But, I’m recovering. It will be a while though before I give blood again.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hi Jemian . You may not be completely well yet, but you sure look good to us!

  4. lysie says:

    Trey Gowdy makes me want to move to South Carolina.

    Side note: NYS passed medical marijuana. Idiots!

  5. lysie says:

    Obama made a televised statement concerning Iraq. He’s sending up to 300 advisers “community organizers” to set up ‘joint operation centers’ to aid the Iraqi military.

  6. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  7. Molly Pitcher says:

    interesting news from Cincinnati maybe we will see more of this kind of honest reporting

  8. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  9. The Raven says:

    Morning quote:

    Rarely has a U.S. president been so wrong about so much at the expense of so many.

    Dick & Liz Cheyney in WSJ oped

    • The Raven says:

      Michael Savage was speculating yesterday that the captured Benghazi terrorist captured over the weekend was told he had two options…..one was the death penalty and the other was to say he and his fellow terrorists were worked into a frenzy because of the video, in which case he’ll be traded for a hostage or get a grocery store in LA.

    • lysie says:

      Hi, Rav. Could happen. One never knows.

    • lysie says:

      Terrorism, IRS scandal, Benghazi, are all issues Congress should get answers to, but they choose to “scold ” Dr. Oz over weigh loss scams????
      Dr. Oz gets scolded by senators over weight loss scams

      First of all weight loss scams and other scams have been around for years….I think maybe that is why “buyer beware” phrase exists. Why is the senate wasting time on such nonsense??

    • edinva says:

      lysie, re your question about why they’re wasting time with Dr Oz and weight loss programs vs. truly serious issues: follow the $$$$$. There’s a ton of $$$$ to be had by trial lawyers (who we all know support Ds) if it’s shown that a given weight loss program or supplement does not cause the weight loss promised, or has side effects that are harmful to people who followed the program or used the supplements. There will be big class action suits where the law firms make millions, and those who suffered ill effects of the allegedly spurious weight loss programs get a coupon for some other product. Or maybe $0.57.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Excellent questions…”fiddling while Rome burns” comes to mind

    • tillacum says:

      That is so true.

    • lysie says:

      Yes, ed. Since my brain doesn’t think the way dems think I still wonder why even though you answered that correctly. I quess my why means…what the heck are they doing?????

  10. Prairie says:

    Excellent article on “The Pace of Obama Disasters”. Spot on.
    Good afternoon all, we will be traveling and busy over the next several days so I wanted to check in. Tillacum good to have you back again.

    No news is mostly good news here. We’ve had a few probs with the RV refrig…(grrr!)…but Mr. Prairie seems to have it back to normal after he hot-wired it and we limped along for a while until a new circuit board could be obtained. Our little portable printer shot craps after only having it a year but Office Max was excellent about replacing it, so all is well there. Otherwise we are blessed and continue on with our travels and (at this point) appointments and obligations. I will try to check in as able. Have a safe week and week-end everybody.

    Oh, I wanted to mention that Mr. Prairie met up with a fellow that he knew and played in a band with 35 years ago. We had a good time playing music with them and have a solid contact in this area for whenever we return. Nice strong Christian too. A good thing.

  11. Molly Pitcher says:

    Sad to read of Tony Gwynn’ s death…will try to post something more later. He sure represented, epitomized the joy of baseball

  12. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  13. lysie says:

    Darn! This morning going out to the barn I saw 2 robins on the ground. Out of the sky came a hawk and grabbed one. Darn hawk!!

    I know it was meant to be that way, BUT, do I have to see it happen in my backyard?

  14. The Raven says:

    Morning quote:

    Get the NSA to download her emails.

    – Blogger BostonMary in the comment section of a John Hayward piece on Lois Lerner’s computer crash myth.

  15. The Raven says:

    Well. I’m off to Pennsylvania with UHaul in tow (and will once again pass by Molly Pitcher Highway) to pick up my 97 yr old mom. My SIL was watching her for the last few yrs and can no longer do it (she has a business to run and can’t do both)

    We put my office furniture in storage and have a room for her on the first floor. She sleeps in a reclining chair so no bed needed. Now, I need to get her DirecTV service in there.

  16. lysie says:

    Ed, you wrote on the weekend thread.

    Y’all know what they say about the best laid plans, right? So round about 2am dh gets sick. Straight thru to 2pm. Could not stop the upchucking, but didn’t want to go to the ER/hospital. I was dispatched to pick up an anti-nausea Rx which eventually worked. By 4p he was fine. (not that this isn’t the 3rd time with the identical thing since late March). Alas, there went Father’s Day dinner plans, so the kidlets came here to visit for a while. It was nice just to visit, who needs a dinner?

    Since son had taken our car, I had to take the bus to the pharmacy. No big whoop. As I left the pharmacy, I saw a bus heading in my direction so I darted X six (6!) lanes of traffic to make it to the bus stop before he did. So as I get to the bus stop it passes me right by as if I weren’t there. Hadn’t noticed it’s an express that doesn’t stop at that particular stop. So, I sat down and within two minutes a lovely woman, nicely dressed, comes to the stop and says “I saw you run to the bus and them him passing you bye, can I give you a ride?” I decided it’d be ok, so she drove me right to the door (turns out she lives less than 1/4 mile away). She had just been to church, so I told her she’d done her Christian duty for the week. It’s always nice when you see these small acts of kindness, especially in a high population area where folks tend not to even notice each other. Equally lovely, and perhaps more surprising … returning from the Marine Barracks by DC Metro on Friday night, DH and I got on a train with no empty seats. Again, no big whoop, we were only going 3 stops. A young black dude, tattoo’d up one end and down the other, dressed stereotypically, offered us his and his buddy’s seats! Amazing. At first blush one would have rather expected a “knock out game.” Appearances are happily deceiving some times. Always nice to see good and kindness in this world.

    I do hope your hubby has things checked out as to why he feels nauseous.

    Loved the stories about kind people. Never…….ever can get enough. Thanks.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      A-gree!

    • edinva says:

      Molly, DH is calling PCP tomorrow to set up an appt, but in March he went to ER and after every scan known to God and man was admitted for 2 days and just like Sunday, all on it’s own, whatever it was/is, it went away just as quickly as it started. I am also pushing for him to get an EEG. He had a “small” stroke in ’08, affecting only the balance part of the brain, but once he felt good, he stopped seeing the neurologist. I think it’s time to see him again.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      That sounds like a good idea…to get rechecked, especially for suspicious recurrences.

  17. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  18. Molly Pitcher says:

    Time to check the house, put away a few things, listen to some soothing music, and sleep. My husband met the new neighbors from down the street, who stopped by to praise my flower beds. That was nice, and my husband offered them my help in doing their own! …

Leave a Reply

