America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- June 30, 2014 – July 4, 2014 Remember 9/11

Hello!

SCOTUS is likely to issue two important decisions this week: the first, involving Hobby Lobby, has been much anticipated and discussed. The second, affecting unions and right to work, less so.

Stay tuned.

Other news affecting end-of-week holiday travel is that gas prices are expected to be the highest since 2008.

Redistribution Recession WSJ

Scott Walkers Wisconsin

“progressives” are the problem WSJ

On my own, says 0 As the highest court slaps him down once again….

Don’t mess with messiahs Victor Davis Hanson

The Obama scandal Bracket

0 returns to Base baiting amid more bad news

economy in another recession?

Cong. reports from border children’s facility Not good…not good at all.

Libs take exception to exceptional ism Jonah Goldberg

The Murrieta rebellion

This entry was posted in About, Daily Thread, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- June 30, 2014 – July 4, 2014 Remember 9/11

  1. The Raven says:

    Wow….they got the IRS, the VA, and Benghazi out of the news by the even more negative “border baby barrage.” Also planned by the strategy adolescents in the back rooms of Obamaland. Hey! Let’s flood the Red states with busloads of illegals !!! That’ll teach ’em

    • The Raven says:

      By the way, if the non-contiguous arrivals are arriving because of false pretentious……they can be returned.

    • The Raven says:

      Morning Quote:

      …nothing’s working.
      Which I’m sure you’ve noticed.
      But I’m not sure people are noticing the sheer strangeness of how the president is responding to the lack of success around him. He once seemed a serious man. He wrote books, lectured on the Constitution. Now he seems unserious, frivolous, shallow. He hangs with celebrities, plays golf. His references to Congress are merely sarcastic: “So sue me.” “They don’t do anything except block me. And call me names. It can’t be that much fun.”

      Peggy Noonan – WSJ – entire article worth the read !!!! Excellent

      Morning quote #2

      “Either we’re going to enforce our laws and remain strong, economically or otherwise, or we ignore the rule of law and go to being a Third World country,”

      – Rep. Louie Gohmert, (R) to Fox News.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      What a contrast!!

      Today’s local paper printed Frederick Douglass’s July 4, 1854 speech in which he denounced this country for evil after evil. The paper provided no context, except a short intro saying that a professor had urged the paper to reprint the speech as her students had found it so powerful and meaningful.

      Hello! July 4th for this? Familiar with Douglass’s life, and a recent visitor to his home in the District, I know this is not,NOT, the complete story. And the complete story IS covered in the D’Souza film, as it happens….Douglass , while not forgetting the evils of slavery, came to appreciate the terrible sacrifice of the Civil War, and chose to stay in this country when others urged him to leave.

      On the next page in today ‘s paper, the very next page….the Hobby Lobby ad was printed…full page…like the Douglass speech.

      So There you have it: the 2 great divides we face. And one side lies and distorts to present itself to poorly educated young people via unscrupulous educators and media outlets.

  2. Molly Pitcher says:

    Nice, very nice Good luck to Mr. Turnquist, who may get a little contribution from me

  3. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  4. lysie says:

    Obama Scandal Bracket ..funny yet sad.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      We will need more empty spaces before it’s over, too!

      It’s chilly outside…I know…that’s just me…

      I am off to see “America” the movie later. My husband has a colleagues retirement event to go to… Then some other meeting…he says he can pass on the movie, so I am going, and not waiting to when he may be available.

    • lysie says:

      Enjoy the movie. We may go for support.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      You would enjoy it..specially the ending….I got a senior citizen discount, plus a free small bag of popcorn due to the awards program the theatre offers. 🙂

  5. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  6. Molly Pitcher says:

    uniquest blocking conservative websites?

    People will be using these hotel computers less and less anyway is my thinking, but it’s still an ominous sign if happening.

  7. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Good morning!

      Another day of potential storms, then clearing..a lot of people have to keep an eye on the storm off the East Coast. I feel bad for those whose holiday plans are affected.

    • lysie says:

      Yes. Weather is “iffy” here.

      Going with my friend, Lucille, to visit her hubby , Al, who is in a rehab. I’ll take her to lunch and then to do her grocery shopping. Dear friend she is.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Enjoy your outing.

      I have learned that Target stores are requesting that no customers carry in their stores, even where it is perfectly legal to do so.

      Sitting ducks, here we come…well not me.

      I’m notifying them of my decreased business.

    • Prairie says:

      Yeah well, Target doesn’t need my business either then. I suppose they think that the thieves, pickpockets, gang-bangers etc. will honor their request……pffft!

  8. Prairie says:

    Lord-a-mercy, the left is losing what is left of their minds about the Hobby Lobby decision. Check out Twitchy if you can stomach non-stop use of the “f” word. They have Sandra Fluke’s reaction, LOL!

    • The Raven says:

      Most of their complaints are dead wrong. I think some or most of this is manufactured – similar to Washington Redskins……..so as to differentiate the Dems. Or more accurately, as a strategy to label the Republicans as anti women, (and anti-Hispanic, anti – Asian, anti-“redskins”, etc)… We need, as a group, to spend some serious money to research a method countering this.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      what’s left of their minds….it’s been an ongoing situation for years…

  9. Prairie says:

    Jemian! Wonderful to see you posting here, we missed you. I’m looking forward to posting more with you soon.

    • Jemian says:

      Thank you. i lurk, but I have been downright curmudgeonly and not good company at all.

      BUT…. I have an announcement…

      My youngest daughter is expecting her first child around Dec. 27. I will be coming to the states for the blessed event and staying until the kid is born or her hubby throws me out.

    • Prairie says:

      Congrats to the whole fam-damily!! :^P

  10. Prairie says:

    pix of more of the alleged text messages on the thread Also Haley Barbour’s name is cropping up in a few places as being part of the vote-buying machine. FWIW.

  11. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    Staying put today. It’s going to be a scorcher.

  12. Prairie says:

    Good evening! It’s been quite a few days since I checked in, it seems that I’m not finding a lot of time for keeping up with internet sites with our traveling. BUT I am glad to be able to check in with everyone here and hope that all are well. We spent the better part of a week visiting m-I-l. She’s doing quite well actually, especially after suffering the broken hip last winter. However, she also looks more frail, isn’t driving (maybe a good thing) and is able to stay in her home only with the support of my s-I-l and b-I-l buying groceries and keeping her house running. However, we are glad that she’s able to be at home at nearly age 88.

    We’ve seen friends and played music along the way, always fun. Tomorrow we will take a day trip to see Mr. Prairie’s cousins at their new condo in the mountains. Music planned for Wednesday night and also for much of next week again in the high country.

    The SCOTUS decision was predictably along party lines with the swing vote. Still, I guess a narrow win is still a win. The dissention and howls from Nancy Pelosi were laughable…..saying that this ruling would allow corporations to interpret laws just any old way they want to …or not at all. Well who in the Sam Hill does THAT sound like?!!

    Ah well, I won’t sully my post with too much of a reference to Zero. Take care everybody, I’ll check in again.

    • lysie says:

      Hi, Prairie
      I was about to dose off after watching 24. Thought I would check in. Take care.

    • Jemian says:

      Good to see you, Prairie. Not only is Pelosi laughable, but almost any lib is frothing at the mouth. I have two relatives who post on DummiesUnderground. They are apoplectic, which makes the rulings even better, imo. At any rate, it is a victory and can be celebrated but a warning is sounded. We didn’t win by much!

      Keep your eyes on Mississippi. Cochran, apparently, promised $15,000 to buy votes. When payments weren’t made, the vote sellers are squealing. Take ’em to court! That’ll learn ’em to welsh on a deal. Honor among thieves and all that!

      Note to self: buy more popcorn.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Hey prairie….some good news on your mother in law

      Hadn’t heard that about the pathetic Cochran Jemian

    • Jemian says:

      Here is a link to the article on Breitbart.com Democrat Pastor Accuses Thad Cochran Campaign of Vote-for-Pay Scheme. I really, really, really hope this is what is needed to get McDaniel in.

  13. Molly Pitcher says:

    Not unexpected, but still sad to hear of the deaths of those Israeli boys

    • lysie says:

      5-4 ruling from what I gather Ginsburg , Sotomayor , Breyer and Kagan are the dissenting justice in the Hobby Lobby case. Well , duh!

      Justice Alito wrote in the majority opinion. “Protecting the free-exercise rights of closely held corporations thus protects the religious liberty of the humans who own and control them.”

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Yes, a thin line protecting us from certain and further public intrusions on our rights has been maintained

    • The Raven says:

      Unfortunately, from Powerline, the fine print is disturbing:

      “the less restrictive alternative that the majority settled on is a certification by Hobby Lobby that it opposes contraceptive coverage, after which the insurance company must provide that coverage for free.” Accordingly, “the premium charged to Hobby Lobby will necessarily include the cost of the free contraception.”

    • lysie says:

      Sort of wimped out on a lower level they did. Sheesh. I’m about to give up. Not really. Very frustrating though.

      Went to shop in my hometown…population 15,000. Almost everything in the “general” store had security tags on them….even underwear. What the heck is happening? I walked out without buying anything…I was disgusted with the idea that people would steal underwear because , if I remember correctly, Hillary donated hers and had a big write off. Can’t these people buy those??? 😉

  14. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      You have a pretty busy day ahead?

    • lysie says:

      Early morning feed shopping at Tractor Supply before the heat hits. How about you?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Errands, then garden. A couple of weeks ago, I spent some time with an older woman who had moved quite a few times in her lifetime, most recently with my husband’s father. I thanked her for all she’d done, and complimented her on her ability to eliminate “stuff” as she called it, and which is a word I use often to describe all the clutter of life. Her new home is quite streamlined and appealing.

      Really, she was quite inspiring. So Sunday a.m……2 .a.m., in fact, there I was in some little used closet back here at home, sorting and tossing. LOL! Oh that felt good, and really I didn’t lose that much sleep.

    • lysie says:

      I’m in the de-clutter mode as well, Molly. Really too hot outside to do anything there. I’m taking a punch bowl and other “things” to the Rescue Mission Thrifty Shopper. Maybe someone else could use them. I think Mom and I used the punch bowl…once in 50 years. LOL

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I found an old recipe book…southern recipes…which one of my college friends gave me over 40 years ago…totally forgotten. We are still regularly in touch, so she will get a kick out of the discovery!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I unloaded a punch bowl too….! To a resale shop which benefits cancer research

    • lysie says:

      Punch bowl??? Sometimes we do things so much alike…it’s scary. LOL

  15. Molly Pitcher says:

    Movie report….my husband is watching an old movie: “Z”….I remember it from long ago, but he doesn’t.

    I’m watching a Wes Anderson film: Moonrise Kingdom…anyone else know of it? Intriguing and imaginative so far….hope it doesn’t disappoint me.

    • lysie says:

      Thanks for the start, Molly.

      I’m kind of on pins and needles re: Supreme Court decisions.

      As far as gas prices, I try to do my shopping in one or two trips to economize. Plus, Tops Friendly Market has ground beef on sale for $2.68 per # any size package. I’ll buy some to make patties and freeze and some in bulk for meat spaghetti sauce, meatloaf, etc. Who would have thought $2.68 is a good price (on sale) when last year I think I was paying $1.29 regular price?

      I’m not familiar with the movie Moonrise Kingdom, but I see Bruce Willis is one of the actors. I can almost guarantee Sarah has seen it many times.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      The movie is quirky….that’s fine with me….I just hope it doesn’t move into weirdness.

      In church yesterday, we had a couple of members ask for prayers for our country, one specifically mentioned the court’s decision

Leave a Reply

