America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- May 2 , 2015 – May 3, 2015 Remember 9/11 (Weekend Edition)

Through the days, Lord, teach us to touch the lives of others for good by the words we speak, the prayers we say, and the life we live.
Amen.

Derby Day. May the best horse and HAT win.

No, using the word “thug” doesn’t make you a racist Jonah Goldberg

Failure of Leadership Breitbart

Your Cat is trying to Talk to you I’m listening….

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- May 2 , 2015 – May 3, 2015 Remember 9/11 (Weekend Edition)

  1. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

  2. lysie says:

    Thug? Back when I was a child that stood for a member of an Italian mob. Trust me I know..while my dad is not a thug he is 100% Italian and may have known a few thugs back in the day. 😉

    Sheesh! People are so sensitive! as far as I’m concerned..like an old saying…Call me anything you like, just don’t call me late for dinner. 😉

    • Jemian says:

      And back when I was a child, it stood for a clan of moslems, with some HIndus thrown in, called the Thugees. from India. Here is what Wikipedia says about them:

      “The Thugs would join travelers and gain their confidence. This would allow them to then surprise and strangle their victims by pulling a handkerchief or noose tight around their necks. They would then rob their victims of valuables and bury their bodies.”

      So, another group of moslem terrorists, spreading their message across the world.

    • Jemian says:

      The term Thuggee is derived from the Hindi word ठग, or ṭhag, which means “deceiver”. Related words are the verb thugna, “to deceive”, from Sanskrit स्थग sthaga “cunning, sly, fraudulent”, from स्थगति sthagati “he conceals”.[5] This term for a particular kind of murder and robbery of travellers is popular in South Asia and particularly in India.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      I had forgotten about the origins of the word! Heaven help us if the enforcers start digging into that old history. We would really be in trouble for using it then.

  3. Molly Pitcher says:

    Good morning! lysie You are Quick with the fingers this Sat. a.m….Derby Day…YAY!

  4. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • lysie says:

      On the weekly thread:.

      Jemian says:
      Saturday, May 2, 2015 at 4:26 am EDT

      Carpe Diem (John Velazquez[He’s a good jockey.], 8-1). I glanced over the field earlier this week. I think I’ll go with him. But what do I know? I am a web designer.

      Here is a scouting report on Carpe Diem:

      This may be four-time Eclipse Award-winning trainer Todd Pletcher’s best chance to win his second Derby. A winner of four of five career starts, Carpe Diem is fresh off his second Grade I victory as he took over at the 1/4 poll and showed late speed to win the Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland on April 4, the same track where he won the Grade I Breeders’ Futurity last fall. Like Pletcher, jockey John Velazquez is seeking his second Derby triumph in his 14th try. The Hall of Fame inducted rider last won the Derby in 2011 aboard Animal Kingdom. At the Tampa Bay Derby on March 7, Carpe Diem went 3-wide and pulled away late.

      Quotable: “In a perfect world, I would have liked to have been more toward the middle with
      Carpe Diem. But he’s a good gate horse and he’ll have to get away from there quickly. That’s pretty much true whatever your draw is in this race.”

      Yup, this is the horse I’m going with.

    • The Raven says:

      Yeh but….watch these impressive videos .

      American Pharoah – Arkansas Derby winner– by big margins and Oakland Park by 8 lengths in the mud !!!

      Dortmund – Santa Anita winner by big margins

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      There is that big fight tonite too.

      Any thoughts on the Baltimore happenings? I see that Alan Dershowitz thinks the Baltimore City State’s Attorney went overboard. It will be interesting to see what the “rest of the story” is….the next 30 days…just on the legal front alone will something. My one careful thought is that Police misconduct can be dangerous, terrifying, but so can a Prosecutor’s misconduct.

    • The Raven says:

      Yes…Mark Levin also weighed in on the overcharges at Baltimore. He also noted half the cops are black. And the black driver is charged with murder. How? Political.

    • Jemian says:

      Sorry to go against the crowd, but I’m not cheering for anything that reminds me of moslems. I know, I know, the pharaohs were well before that belief system straight from hell, but it is just the feel of the thing. Ya’ know? Several horses were weeded out from my consideration on that basis. Not scientific at all, but that’s just the way I am.

    • The Raven says:

      But Jem, but Jem….

      You may not pick the winner with your system. Actually the Post picks the Dubai horse – so I guess that’s out, too.

      When I was in my 20’s – I used to watch how they all walked in the warm up and picked the most relaxed horse regardless of odds. I got 10 in a row that way including a long shot. Then something happened and I was wrong maybe 12 in a row.

      So after I see them walking, I may change my mind but now….I think it’ll be something like this:

      Comin’ round the final post it’s Pharaoh and Dortmund, Pharaoh and Dortmund, Pharaoh and Dortmund and now Pharaoh pulls away. It’s going to be his day…..5 lengths, now 6, now 7……It’s Pharaoh !!!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      You called it Raven. Very good. I had no faves, but did wonder why the name Carpe Diem had never been used before. Seems a natural choice… ..

    • Jemian says:

      Carpe Diem did not carpe this diem. American Pharaoh did.

    • The Raven says:

      I used my “look at them walking method” and settled on 10 and 15. But I told my wife that there was too much class in the top two (American Pharaoh and Dortmund) so I was going with Pharaoh first Dortmund and then 10 and 15…..welll….sure enough …#10 made a go of it…and almost won….but finished second. ….. later I remembered I hadn’t looked where 15 ended up….and walah….15 was 4th !1!1
      So…ended up I was close…..had the 2 and 3 reversed but had the correct top 4.
      But no money bet. Shoot.

Leave a Reply

