America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- August 1 , 2015 – August 2 , 2015 Remember 9/11 ( Weekend Edition).

Eighteen House Republicans say they will hold up any bill to fund the federal government that does not contain language in it to defund Planned Parenthood. They are: Reps. Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), John Fleming (R-La.), Raúl Labrador (R-Idaho), Matt Salmon (R-Ariz.) Tim Huelskamp (R-Kan.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.) Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.), Walter Jones (R-N.C.), Curt Clawson (R-Fla.), Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.), Keith Rothfus (R-Pa.), Randy Weber (R-Texas), Scott Perry (R-PA), Steven Pearce (R-N.M.), Trent Franks (R-Ariz.) and Louie Gohmert (R-Texas)

Michelle Obama said that if she could have another job it would be as Beyoncé. (Not that there is anything wrong with that.)

The doctors have issued a statement claiming Hillary has no serious health issues and can serve as president. (All righty then.)

The College that Hates ‘Americans’ Daily Beast

Another TRO blocks video releases The Federalist

Next: Puerto Rico’s default and it’s going to be bad

Pushing back on EPA diktats Pittsburgh Trib editorial

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to America the Right Way -Staying Vigilant- August 1 , 2015 – August 2 , 2015 Remember 9/11 ( Weekend Edition).

  1. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • lysie says:

      Thanks for the links, Molly. The one about The Bias-Free Language Guide
      Let’s see if we can re-define words using that guide.

      Progressives and liberals…..those who think they have more rights than others.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Good morning. I like your definition, yes!

    • lysie says:

      Another:

      Progressives and liberals = those who do everything wrong, but point the finger at those who do no wrong.

    • lysie says:

      Stop name calling??? Libs first.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Afternoon…shortly after my last post, we went out for a short hike along the lake shore. There we encountered a few runners and walkers with dogs, all unleashed. All was ok til one gal, with 2 such dogs, and no command of either one, allowed one of them to approach me , jump up and get me with his dirty, muddy paws, ugh, ugh, on a fresh, clean shirt. Then she didn’t even apologize! …..But moved on, getting the dog to follow her…

      Seeing what might happen, and fearing worse, I was just still and calm, but should I have firmly yelled “no”??

    • lysie says:

      Gosh , Molly how would you know what to do? If you did firmly say no maybe the dog would attack because it felt threatened. Who knows? Stop to think if that happened to a small child. The owner was inconsiderate.

    • edinva says:

      “inconsiderate” is the politest way of stating what the owner was!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Thanks lysie. That helps…I am pretty used to encountering dogs that are leashed on our walks and hikes. Now sometimes the dogs’ leashes are a little too long, too, and that does little good in certain smaller spaces..

  2. The Raven says:

    Lysie, how ’bout dem Yankees?

    Side note….hot prospect Luis Severino to pitch Wednesday

    • lysie says:

      Re: Yankees. Rav, even with a loss last night they are 5 games ahead of Orioles. Tex and A Rod have been making some records. Tex hitting 2 home runs..one left handed the other right-handed in the same game. A-Rod and his 3 homers in same game.
      I’m looking forward to the game with the new pitcher.

  3. The Raven says:

    News is a head scratcher in this age of Obama

    The marine who was shot in the Chattanooga attack is being charged with returning fire at the terrorist.

  4. Prairie says:

    Hello everyone, checking in briefly here. We spent the last 3 weeks on the church build project. Got a good start but it’s waaay far from being complete. Had lots of rain before we got there, other construction delays too. Lovely congregation and very solid preaching from the pulpit. Will have to keep them in prayer for sure. There was also obviously miscommunication and unrealistic expectations from both sides of the project….sigh.

    Anyway, I think of all of you often. I’m getting my strength back after that surgery so that’s a good thing. Expect it will still take several months. I’m not sure what my internet access will be over the next few weeks so if you don’t hear from me, it’ll primarily be because of that. Hopefully I’ll be able to check in. I’ve been taking the summer off from internet news….just taking a break.

    Take care all,
    Prairie

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Oh boy is it good to hear from you. Please post again when you can….congrats on the church building….solid preaching …we sure need that.

    • The Raven says:

      There you are!! Really, really good you have your strength returning. And, yes….check in. That IS taking a break! [depends on what your definition if IS is.

    • lysie says:

      There you are, Prairie. Thanks for the “church build project” report. Very nice. Wish I was there to offer a hand.

  5. The Raven says:

    Saturday Quote:

    “There are four ways in which you can spend money. You can spend your own money on yourself. When you do that, why then you really watch out what you’re doing, and you try to get the most for your money. Then you can spend your own money on somebody else. For example, I buy a birthday present for someone. Well, then I’m not so careful about the content of the present, but I’m very careful about the cost. Then, I can spend somebody else’s money on myself. And if I spend somebody else’s money on myself, then I’m sure going to have a good lunch! Finally, I can spend somebody else’s money on somebody else. And if I spend somebody else’s money on somebody else, I’m not concerned about how much it is, and I’m not concerned about what I get. And that’s government. And that’s close to 40% of our national income.”

    – Milton Friedman……More here

  6. The Raven says:

    Lysie, Molly, Ed…..thanks for the effort…..we beat the bimbo but finished third. Third place behind the two Democrats. But we tried. Thanks again

    Saturday Afternoon quiz:

    One half of the 40 billionaires identified by the Wall St Journal have already chosen their candidate and donated to him or her. Who is it?

    Rick Perry
    Marco Rubio
    Hillary Clinton
    Jeb Bush
    Scott Walker

  7. edinva says:

    G’day, Molly, all

    Did Michelle miss the question asked or, like a typical politician, give the answer to a question she wanted? She wasn’t asked who else she might want to be, but rather what other job she might want. She would never want Beyonce’s job, she’d have to actually WORK. Say what you will about Beyonce, but that’s some serious work when she goes onstage.

    Rav, I can vote again @ 11:30a. Set my alarm not to miss it since we can’t go past noon.

    Did you all see that Gov. McAuliffe won the right in court to terminate the confederate flag license plates in VA? I am so sick of this. And, I wonder, can a successor governor make it OK to issue confederate flag plates? Apparently there are 1700 of them in VA, most in a suburb of Richmond. Not my thing, but I don’t think others should be denied. In RVA there’s a museum dedicated to the Confederacy. In fact, it’s X from the VCU hospital and dental school that I’ve been going to. Better stop in while it’s still allowed to stand. Once we’ve eliminated all reference to the Confederacy, things will be peaceful and we’ll have perfect relatons between the races, right?

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Ah, it’s fantasy world, we are in. Hi ED😎

    • edinva says:

      Yo, Molly, lysie, Rav, all

      Voted again: Color = 187/B&W = 212. Good luck, Rav

      Had my bank card stolen yesterday. My own stupid fault, I just left it where someone could find it and walk off with it, which is exactly what they did (of course, they COULD have turned it in). Fool went to WalMart and a local gas station, didn’t even charge that much, so now s/he, if found – and there are enough clues and surveillance tapes if the bank wants to pursue it – can do time in the local pokey. Just a minor, tho unnerving, inconvenience to me. The bank will reverse the charges. That’s my big excitement heading into the weekend. Let’s hope the rest is quiet, as expected.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Sorry to read this…don’t let it spoil your weekend

    • lysie says:

      Darn it, ed.

      Sorry to hear about your bank card. I worry that I may do that someday. Usually when I go shopping I have 50 million things going on in my brain….who wants this…who needs that… what store to go to next, etc.??

      I must learn to focus.

    • edinva says:

      lysie, that was the situation .. too much ‘stuff’ going on, and I told myself: do NOT forget your card. That helped 😉

      Have you all read about the Lt.Cmdr. who shot at the terrorist who killed five in Chattanooga .. and is now facing disciplinary charges for being armed despite the stupid rules??? Dear Lord, what has happened to the U.S. and its military?

    • lysie says:

      That really ticks me off, ed.

      I find myself silently using words my mother told me not to. It’s so hard to stay calm and not comment with all the outrageous things happening each day.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      What? Somehow that has to be stopped!!!

  8. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

Leave a Reply

