America-the-Right-Way-Staying-Vigilant April 29 , 2017- April 30 , 2017 Remember-9-11- Weekend-Edition

Ed mentioned this yesterday. After the trashing of Fox News commentators , there are some rumors out there that a new conservative news station might be started in the future. Could this be true?

The Cruelty of the Academic Left PJMedia

Eco-Terrorism in Alabama? This needs more coverage….Powerline

100 Days Success: Regulatory Rollback

This entry was posted in Threads, Weekend Thread. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to America-the-Right-Way-Staying-Vigilant April 29 , 2017- April 30 , 2017 Remember-9-11- Weekend-Edition

  1. Molly Pitcher says:

    Raven Do you remember writing a few days ago about the state of the judiciary??
    Well as it happens later that day, I came across an old, short essay on the problem…I am going thru some old issues of First Things>/i> Journal…to review before discarding…and this essay was titled: “The Creeping D’Etat”…it’s from exactly 20 years ago….20 years!!

    The author attacks the question head on, and decides it all goes back to the Warren Court, 1954, and the Brown decision. In the years after that the judiciary transformed its role into a legislative role. Before that, it had “negative veto” power. After that it assumed a “positive veto” power, exercising functions it was not supposed to claim.

    It was so funny to come across this succinct and clear explanation right after you has commented on the current situation.

  2. The Raven says:

    The Yankee’s grabbed first place last night with 25 yr old Aaron Judge blasting his 10th homer of the year (tied for AL lead). I saw the guy in person at Spring Training this year. He’s Yuuuuge !!! He hits 550 ft home runs in batting practice. He has the all-time major league record for ball velocity and he’s just getting started. I don’t want to put the hex on him, but he sort of reminds me of the tape measure kid, Mickey Mantle, in his youth.

  3. edinva says:

    “100 Days of Failure” march in NYC; some “Climate Change” march in DC … they just don’t stop!!! Saddest and sorriest losers in history, I swear. Alas, Fox has a published poll showing 67% of the American public think the Democrat party is out of touch. Only 67%? Give ’em time.

    My big news: (doesn’t take much) This week I fell heir to a Fitbit Surge, so am undertaking a serious program to unload the 50+/- unsightly lbs gained over the past 5 years. Gross. Just gross. The Fitbit is really kinda cool. Tells me how many calories I’ve burned, steps taken, miles walked and heart beats per minute. I have to figure out how to work the feature that shows your sleep … seriously, it tells how much of the RmA deep sleep I’m getting vs tossing and turning. Paranoid as I am, I have concerns that someone somewhere (robot probably) knows about literally every breath I take. Something creepy about that. BUT, if I can lose the weight I won’t care. BTW I fell heir to this brand new, never used $250 Fitbit from a woman who apparently cares not in the least about $$. She bought it and then decided it’s “too big” ( 1-1/4″) so instead of returning to the store, just gave it over. I’m just lucky that way !!! She also gave me a very thin Fitbit (1/2″) with a band in each and every color available. It doesn’t do quite so much as the big one, but does do steps/miles/beats per minute, etc. Gonna just give that to my son who is also battling an unseemly weight gain. Skinny by Christmas!!!!

    • lysie says:

      Hello, ed. After losing over 40 pounds I’ve put a few pounds back on. Must stop it, now!

      Did you see this? Say what? Sheesh!

    • edinva says:

      oh, stop it now if you can, lysie …. before you get all 40 back, with friends! My gain came on a pound at a time, like maybe one a week or one a month, with no explanation: no change in eating habits, same ole exercise and lifestyle … but have they ever added up!!! I thought maybe it was a new Rx, had blood tested because it seems very unnatural. Still no explanation. So now the only hope is to just walk it off!! And I am off to complete my 10K steps for the day!!!

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      They sure keep finding ways to show their craziness!

      Ah the Fitbit…it is very appealing, and tempting. Good luck with it!

    • edinva says:

      Thanks, Molly … I’ve heard quite a few Fitbit success stories and hope to be one of them. The alternate is to remove every mirror in the house and not walk by store fronts. But, seriously, it’s not only ugly, it’s unhealthy. So we shall persist (to coin a phrase)

    • tillacum says:

      I’m thinking of getting one of those Fitbit thingys. I want to know how many steps, bends, lifts etc I make. Also need to DROP a few pounds. I go Atkins, then off to food races, back onto Atkins, but OH, that sweet looks so goood, or that casserole looks so good. Hmm

    • lysie says:

      Hi, till. Prayers for Canton, Texas..hit by tornado. 😦

    • lysie says:

      Till, it’s too early to pick asparagus. Maybe by the end of May.

    • edinva says:

      Till, I do believe Atkins is the best diet around …. I bought the book. It sits on my nightstand 🙂 I did do it once and, over some months, lost every ounce I wanted … but then it all came back. But at least I’ve met my 10K steps for the first 3 days of this new regime and am happy about that… don’t know what credit it gives for bends, but steps/miles walked/biked/run … it does that!

  4. tillacum says:

    I just walked by the tv and there’s ANOTHER demonstration by our “snowflakes” The “leaders” are carrying a sign, about half way across a street “We Are The Ones We’ve Been Waiting For”. They can’t even think up their own Catchy words for their signs. OOFFDA

  5. lysie says:

    Good morning everyone.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Oh my does that look good. Hello lysie

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      This is definitely an “inside” day,but I do have a run to the store this a.m…. in the rain….I hope you have some more interesting plans!

    • tillacum says:

      Good morning ladies. Molly, I think we’ll be getting some rain this afternoon. Have to dig
      some potatoes this a.m., they’re ready.
      That is a good looking breakfast lysie. Thank you.

    • Molly Pitcher says:

      Your garden is already yielding …good going till!

    • tillacum says:

      We planted those potatoes a day before or after valentine’s day. Our beans (peas) are ready for picking too. I’ll have to get them tomorrow, because it’s getting ready to rain and I haven’t even gotten the potatoes as I’d planned. I need to get the peas while they are still very young, ’cause I prefer those to the ones after the peas have developed. Our master gardener told me I was too picky. (Well, why am I growing my own beans (peas) I am picky.
      My kitchen garden in front of the patio (up against the patio railing) is almost ready to begin planting and seed the holes in the concrete blocks. It will match the stones in the railing.
      lysie, how is the asparagus? Have you begun picking? I got hold of some fresh picked and darn it, the asparagus didn’t make it home. They were delicious.

Leave a Reply

